Erica Thurber

BA Social and Criminal Justice

A little bit about me...

I joined the Air Force immediately after graduating high school, started taking online classes about a year and a half later, and will hopefully have my degree by next spring. By the time I graduate, I will have spent about four years with Ashford University. My experience with Ashford so far has been phenomenal. I've taken online courses with two other universities and Ashford is definitely my top choice for several different reasons. Being active duty military with a full-time job and being a full-time student has definitely proved difficult at times, but completely worth it. My major is Social and Criminal Justice and I also have an associate degree in Intelligence Studies and Technology through the Community College of the Air Force. I am originally from Alabama, lived in Las Vegas for the past four years, and am now stationed in South Korea for one year. I am the oldest of four children in my family of six and we are all still very close. My fiance and I will be getting married soon and I hope to be able to return to Las Vegas so we can live in the same place for a while. My job for the Air Force is in the intelligence career field and I love what I do. As for hobbies other than school work (which I totally consider a hobby), I enjoy traveling, hiking, camping, scrapbooking, and cooking. I chose to be a mentor because I honestly think having a mentor when I started taking classes could have been helpful. I have experienced many obstacles since taking classes, so I hope to able to help my mentee through his/her own obstacles they may face. Also, I just want to be able to encourage them to continue working towards their goal because one can never have too many motivators! Looking forward to the next few weeks and experiencing this program with all of you!