Digital Citizenship

Brittany Pfeifer

What Is Digital Citizenship?

Digital Citizenship consists of nine points:

  1. Digital Etiquette
    Do not use technology inappropriately.

  2. Digital Access
    Understanding that access is limited, and working toward providing everyone with the resources they require.

  3. Digital Security
    Self protection against technology and what comes with it.

  4. Digital Communication
    Communicating appropriately via digital device.

  5. Digital Commerce
    Understanding that digital transactions of goods and services are made.

  6. Digital Health and Wellness
    Understanding that there are dangers with technology that can effect your health.

  7. Digital Literacy
    The spreading of knowledge and ideas through technology.

  8. Digital Law
    Understanding the ethics behind technology.

  9. Digital Rights and Responsibilities
    Digital citizens have all the rights of non-digital ones.

What Should I Know About My Digital Citizenship?

  • Being a digital citizen means being responsible online, and being responsible for your actions online.

  • You have the right to use technology, and the right to be protected from it. your responsibilities are not to harm anyone using technology, and to leave a clean trail behind you when you use it.

  • You can use digital tools to educate others about digital citizenship by sharing online resources with them about the subject.

  • You can create a positive digital footprint by going on secure sites, and knowing which websites to avoid (such as websites that contain viruses), while also protecting yourself and others with the right malware.