HJHS Weekend Update

August 31, 2015

Big image

Relationships Change Everything

I read a very interesting article this weekend. The one idea that struck me was about building relationships with students - especially those who are the most challenging. The author described investing 15 minutes in relationship building could save countless minutes in correcting off-task behaviors and disruptions. (link to the article is below ). The article is not a silver bullet, but it does provide some "food for thought."


We are entering week 5! This is the time to rev it up! We, Rico, Carlita, Bobbi, and I, are here to support you! DO NOT HESITATE TO TALK WITH US ABOUT YOUR NEEDS OR THE NEEDS OF YOUR STUDENTS!! Our goal is to help you maximize the learning of each and every student in your classrooms!

Upcoming events for the week at HJHS!

Monday, August 31: Culture PLC and Literacy PLC are meeting after school. Parent Contact Log is due by the end of the day - there will be an assignment on Edmodo.


Tuesday, September 1: Football Game - HJHS vs. Mtn Gap @ 6:00 (Milton Frank)


Wednesday, September 2: Fire Drill during 6th period (approx. 1:50); Faculty Meeting; and Volleyball Match @ 4:00 (HJHS)

"Wear It Wednesday" - wear your school colors for College and Career Week.



** College and Career Connections Week: Reach Out and Connect **

DEADLINES AND DATES TO REMEMBER!

UPCOMING DATES TO REMEMBER

  • Monday, August 31: PLC meetings (Literacy and Culture); Parent Log due on Edmodo by end of the day.

  • Tuesday, Sept. 1: HJHS vs. Mt. Gap Football (Milton Frank @ 6:00)

  • Wednesday, Sept. 2: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, Sept 2: HJHS vs. Challenger & HCMS VBall (HOME @ 4:00)

  • Monday, Sept. 7: Labor Day Holiday

  • Wednesday, Sept 9: HJHS vs. McNair & Mt. Gap VBall (McNair @ 4:00)

  • Wednesday, Sept 9: PST meetings after school

  • Saturday, Sept 12: Liberty Jets Volleyball Tournament @ James Clemens HS

  • Tuesday, Sept. 15: HJHS vs. Westlawn Football (Milton Frank @ 4:00)

  • Wednesday, Sept 16: HJHS vs. Whitesburg & Chapman (HOME @ 4:00)

  • Saturday, Sept 19: BGA Volleyball Tournament in Franklin, TN

  • Monday, Sept 21: HJHS vs. Williams Football (Milton Frank @ 4:00)

  • Monday, Sept 21: HJHS vs. Madison Academy & Athens VBall (Mad. Acad. @ 4:00)

  • Wednesday, Sept 23: HJHS vs. Westlawn & Williams (Westlawn @ 4:00)

  • Friday-Saturday, Sept 25-26: Battle of the Bullpen Volleyball Tournament (HCMS)

  • Monday - Friday, Sept 28 - Oct 2: Benchmark Tests

  • Monday, Sept. 28: HJHS vs. Challenger Football (Milton Frank @ 6:00)

  • October 5 – 9: FALL BREAK

  • Monday, October 12: HJHS vs. Whitesburg (Milton Frank @ 6:00)

  • Wednesday, October 14: PST meetings after school

  • Tueday, October 20: HJHS vs. Chapman (Milton Frank @ 4:00)

  • Wednesday, October 21: Faculty Meeting

  • Thursday, October 22: Panteree

  • Tuesday, October 27: HJHS vs. Hampton Cove (Milton Frank @ 6:00)

  • Wednesday, November 4: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, November 18: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, December 2: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, December 9: Faculty Meeting

  • December 10 - 16: SchoolNet Benchmark Assessments

  • January 5 - 11: STAR Winter Benchmark

  • Wednesday, January 6: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, January 13: Faculty Meeting

  • February 1 - April 1: ACCESS for ELLs and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs

  • Wednesday, February 3: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, February 10: PST meetings after school

  • February 29 - March 4: SchoolNet Benchmark Assessments

  • Wednesday, March 2: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, March 9: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, April 13: Faculty Meeting

  • April 18 - 27: STAR Spring Benchmark

  • Wednesday, April 20: PST meetings after school

  • April 28 - May 13: ACT End of Course Tests (Algebra I and Geometry)

  • May 2 - 13: ACT Aspire

  • Wednesday, May 4: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, May 11: PST meetings after school