Sehome High School Mariner Memo

Week of January 18-22, 2021

No School Jan. 18 in honor of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Big picture

Food Services Update

This week during the distribution, we will be piloting a Food Recovery Program, in partnership with Sustainable Connections. Bring any unwanted, shelf-stable items you are not using back to one of the 15 school locations. Your unwanted cans and food products will find a new home.


As we have in weeks past, we encourage all families to pick up a free box of 14 meals and support our Food Services Program and the Good Food Project. Boxes are distributed from 4 to 5:30 p.m. every Wednesday at 15 school locations and six community locations.


When you arrive in the meal box line, let the staff on hand know you have food for the Food Recovery Program. They will direct you to the drop-off box. School sites only.

Big picture

Beyond the Birds and the Bees: information night on sexual health education will be offered at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 18, 2021

Initiative 90 did not change anything about our curriculum in Bellingham Public Schools. In our schools, policy and procedure 2125 govern sexual health education. We offer parents and guardians an opportunity to review materials to be used in our classroom; after which they may choose to exclude their child from sexual health education instruction. Fifth grade curriculum can be reviewed here. For grades 6 to 8, we use the KNOW curriculum, available here. High school health classes use the FLASH curriculum, with information available here.


This school year, we will share some information in a virtual setting at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 18. You may send questions in about this information after viewing the short presentation. Send questions to angela.ritchey@bellinghamschools.org.

Sports Medicine Club

Sports Med is promoting some community outreach for the Friends of youth. Please click on the banner to see how you can help.

FAFSA Questions?

Seniors, now that you have submitted your FAFSA … what now?

What is included in your SAR ( Student Aid Report) and who sees it?

What is your family’s EFC? ( Estimated Family contribution)

Learn the answers to these and more at:

https://www.collegecovered.com/resource/9001/

If you have not competed your FAFSA please contact Mrs. Zender in the Career Center for assistance!

Hello Mariners!


Did you know that the second Friday in January is known as Quitters Day? Research done by Strava, a social media network, discovered that it is the day that people are most likely to give up on achieving their New Year’s resolutions! Have you quit yet?

It’s still January. Let PTSA help you achieve a new goal.

Join SHS PTSA to:

1) Get involved

2) Meet other families

3) Make your voice heard

4) Learn something new

5) Become a role model

We love new faces and fresh ideas!

Please email us at sehomehighschoolptsa@gmail.com, if you have any questions or need assistance with membership fees.

Multi-Language Message Line

Families whose first language is not English can leave a message on our multi-language message line at 360-647-6816. Families dial 2 for Russian, dial 3 for Vietnamese, dial 4 for Punjabi or dial 5 for any other language (say name of language at beginning of message). Please call 360-676-6456 for Spanish.

Sehome Points of Contact

Sonia Cole, Principal: sonia.cole@bellinghamschools.org

Mike Couto, Assistant Principal: A - K mike.couto@bellinghamschools.org

Bethany Barrett, Assistant Principal: L - Z bethany.barrett@bellinghamschools.org

Kimberly Kirk, Dean of Students: kimberly.kirk@bellinghamschools.org


Jeff Smith, Counselor 9th Grade: jeffrey.smith@bellinghamschools.org

Amy Hjelt, Counselor A - G: amy.hjelt@bellinghamschools.org

Hana Schutz, Counselor H - M: hana.schutz@bellinghamschools.org

John Vandermolen, Counselor N - Z: john.vandermolen@bellinghamschools.org