Chinese School of Thought

by Madi Snyder


-The Eightfold Path.

1. Right Views; seeing life as it really is

2. Right Intentions; living a life of good will; striving toward perfection

3. Right Speech; avoiding lies and gossip

4. Right Action; trying to be law-abiding and honest

5. Right Living; avoiding work that harms others

6. Right Effort; seeking to prevent evil

7. Right Mindfulness; constant awareness of one’s self 8. Right Concentration: directing the mind in meditation

-The Four Noble Truths

1. All human life involves suffering and sorrow

2. The desire for a life of pleasure and material gain causes suffering and sorrow.

3. Renouncing desire frees people from suffering and helps their souls attain nirvana.

4. The Eightfold Path leads to renunciation, or denial of desire and attainment of nirvana.

Big image


-Stable societies are built on LI. (Proper Behavior)

-Respect older people (elders) and traditions.

-“Do not do to others what you do not wish yourself.” (Golden Rule)

-His sayings are written in The Analects.

-Government officials have to pass exams to prove they understand these principles.

-HAN Dynasty

-Rulers should lead by example. Inferiors should obey.

-There are five relationships in society one should honor.

-Belief in Filial piety (respect for parents)

Big image


For individuals to attain happiness:

-Practice meditation

-Live a simple life

-Live in harmony with nature

-Harmony comes from balancing opposites forces of yin and yang.

-They reject conflict; they prefer to give way-to yield like water.

-People should live in harmony with nature.

-The best government governs the least.

-The book is “The Way of Virtue.”

Big image


Strong government deters violence.

Used to force people to work on government projects such as the Great Wall.

The nature of man is evil; strict rules are needed for order.

QIN ('Chin') Dynasty

Greed is the cause of most conflicts.

Big image