Canberra Trip

by Sinead Murphy


The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, a world-class museum, and an extensive archive. The Memorial's purpose is to commemorate the sacrifice of those Australians who have died in war. Its mission is to assist Australians to remember, interpret and understand the Australian experience of war and its enduring impact on Australian society.
Big image
Australian War Memorial - Canberra - War Heroes


The Parliament consists of two Houses the House of Representatives and the Senate, and the Queen, represented in Australia by the Governor General.

Parliament makes laws, authorises the Government to spend public money, scrutinises government activities, and is a forum for debate on national issues.

The House of Representatives is one of the two Houses of Parliament and is sometimes called ‘the People’s House’ or the ‘house of government’. The party, or parties, that hold a majority of seats in the House form government. There are currently 150 Members of the House of Representatives who each represent an electorate.

The Senate is one of the two houses of the Australian Federatoion Parliament. It consists of 76 senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland territories. It shares the power to make laws with the other House of the Parliament, the House of Representatives.

Big image
Parliament House of Australia, Canberra, ACT Australia


The National Capital Exhibition tells the story of Canberra, Australia's national capital. Through interactive displays, the Exhibition illustrates Canberra's vital role as a symbol of Federation. It features the people, events, history and design which contributed to the development of this unique, modern, fully planned city.

Big image
Canberra - National Capital Exhibition 1