ConVal Nurse Newsletter

November 2022

ILLNESS

We have seen an increase in illness in our schools. Please be sure to review the district's illness guidance, summarized below, and reach out to your school nurse with any questions.


Students who have any symptoms of respiratory or gastrointestinal infections
, such as cough, congestion, fever, sore throat, vomiting, or diarrhea, should stay home.


Testing is recommended for people with symptoms of COVID-19.


Students may return to school when symptoms have improved and they have been free from vomiting, diarrhea, and/or fever for 24 hours without symptom-reducing medication.


If students test positive for COVID-19, they must follow the CDC's isolation guidelines; please contact your school nurse to confirm the date your student may return to school.

END 68 HOURS

Big picture

Nutrition and the Holidays

This time of year, many students and their families will be celebrating various holidays. The celebrations often involve many different foods, and choosing the "right" foods to eat can be a challenge. Parents/guardians can be great role models for their child, choosing healthier food items and limiting ultra-processed and high-sugar foods. The food that we eat affects our immune system, which is the front-line defense system to help us stay healthy. This is especially important this season, with the expected increase in respiratory viruses such as influenza, RSV, and COVID-19.


For parents of preschoolers, you can find nutrition tips here.

The article found here gives suggestions for making healthy food choices for the whole family.

More information about the nutritional needs of teens can be found here.

Big picture

CONVAL DISTRICT SCHOOL NURSES

Gretchen Shippee, RN ConVal High School (603)924-3869 gshippee@conval.edu


Judi Bernardi, RN ConVal High School (603)924-3869 jbernardi@conval.edu


Linda Compton, RN Great Brook School (603)588-6630 licompton@conval.edu


Tricia Harris, RN South Meadow School (603)924-7105 pharris@conval.edu


Vicki Mellon, RN Antrim Elementary (603)588-6371 vmellon@conval.edu


Jill Gourley, RN Peterborough Elementary (603)924-3828 jgourley@conval.edu


Amy Healey, RN Pierce Elementary (603)588-2131 ahealey@conval.edu


Rebecca Philbrick, RN Francestown Elementary (603)547-2976 rphilbrick@conval.edu


Alaina Slocomb, RN Greenfield Elementary (603)547-3334 aslocomb@conval.edu


Mitzi Turgeon, RN Hancock Elementary (603)525-3303 mturgeon@conval.edu


Rebecca Philbrick, RN Temple Elementary (603)878-1955 rphilbrick@conval.edu


Rebecca Philbrick, RN Dublin Consolidated (603)563-8332 rphilbrick@conval.edu