North Carolina

By: Leidi Villa-G.

North Carolina Colony

The North Carolina Colony was one of the original 13 colonies located on the Atlantic coast of the North America. The North Carolina Colony was classified as one of the Southern colonies. The Province of North Carolina was an English colony in North America that existed form 1653 until 1776.
Big image


1. It was founded in 1653 by Virginia colonists

2. Major town/ city: Raleigh

3. In 1691 the land assumed the name North Carolina

4. In 1712 North Carolina becomes a royal English colony

5. The North Carolina Colony became a state on November 21, 1789.

6. In 1653 Nathaniel B. becomes the earliest permanent settler in North Carolina

7. By 1775 North Carolina was governed as a Royal Colony.

8. Natural Resources: Fish, forest and good agricultural land.

9. Religion: Not dominated by a specific religion which gave way to religious freedom for Baptists, Anglicans and others.

10. Economic and Trade: Concentrated on agriculture and developed the plantations exporting tobacco, COTTON, corn vegetables, grain fruit and livestock.

Big image