Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 02/20/2022

Entry Way Mural *Voting Begins This Week

I want to thank our wonderful PTO for putting together our student ideas into the top six options for students to begin voting on this next week. Voting will take two rounds, with the first narrowing it to the top three. This has been a great project for our students to be a part of and we are excited to see the updated mural! Thank you for the continued support of our PTO!
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Spelling Bee

Our school spelling champion is Willa Cross and our runner-up is Andras Zold. We had 22 students participate and a big thank you to our librarian, Sara Harlan, for making this happen!
Big picture

Wednesday Performance(s)

Such a good way to start our day together. A big THANK YOU to Mr. Bletscher and our band students! I also want to point out that students from all grade levels have the courage to get in front of their peers and perform. Great atmosphere in our cafeteria on Wednesday morning!
Big picture

Art of Japanese Origami

Here are a few pictures from Cultures. Students are practicing the art of Japanese origami by making cranes. I was really impressed with their grit! It is not an easy task and they really had to focus, follow directions, and help each other. Great job 6th graders!

Student Support/Expectations

As we begin our second semester together, I want to remind students & parents to check Skyward weekly for grade updates and progress. Our focus for all students is to continue to grow as learners throughout their time with us. Our staff will continue to be consistent with expectations in order for students to be able to focus on academics. Throughout middle school years, reminders of appropriate communication and taking responsibility for behavior choices is also a part of the learning process. Please continue to reach out with any questions and/or concerns as you communicate with students on how school is going, so we can work together to finish the 2021-2022 school year in a positive way.


Our commitment

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.

Technology Reminder(s)

With our academic focus throughout the school day, we want to remind students that chromebooks are intended to enhance their academic experience throughout the class period. We also want them to last as long as possible and have asked students to have these devices closed as they walk from class to class. Cell phones/headphones can also be a distraction to the academic focus and we ask that they are turned off/put away throughout the school day unless directed by a staff member/teacher. Thank you for your help with communicating the importance of limiting these distractions. If parents need to contact students throughout the day, please reach out to our office staff at 360.629.1360 and we will get a message to them.
Big picture

Spring Conference Information

We are currently working on gathering academic information and goal setting worksheets from all students to mail a packet home to families. Our timeline for completion is to have these in the mail by March 17th for you to review. After taking a look at the packet, we will have conference times available for parents to meet with our staff as needed. However, at any point in the school year, if you have a question or concern, we encourage you to send an email or give us a call for clarification. Our lines of communication are open throughout the school year, so please don't feel that you need to wait for conference week (full calendar below).

Big picture

Week of February 21st through February 25th

Monday:

No School - Presidents' Day/Mid Winter Break


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Power Hour 2:30 - 3:30


Wednesday:

RED Wednesday Schedule

Power Hour 2:30 - 3:30


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Power Hour 2:30 - 3:30

Volleyball Club 2:30 - 3:30

Girls Basketball vs Centennial (4:00 & 5:15)


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Levy Listening Session

The School Board approved a resolution to place the Capital Projects and Technology Levy on the April 26, 2022 special election ballot. As you know, the levy failed to receive a simple majority vote on

February 8 to gain passage. State laws allow districts to resubmit a failed levy one more time in a calendar year.


Over the next two months, we will be listening to our families, staff and community about any concerns they may have about this levy and explaining how this local levy funding supports student learning.


The district has scheduled a listening session on the proposed levy for Wednesday, February 23, from 6 to 7 p.m. on Zoom. Access the webinar HERE.
Big picture

I hope you all are enjoying a well deserved 4 day weekend!

Cherae Almanza, Principal

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.