TRIX ACADEMY

February 22, 2021

Dates to Remember

2/22/2021 - Art Contest Submission Deadline

2/23/2021 - Food Distribution

2/25/2021 - Scholar of the Month Award Ceremony

From the Desk of the Principal

Hello Trix Academy Family!


Intent to Return forms for scholars were emailed to the email address Trix Academy has on file. If you did not receive your link, please contact the office at (313) 426-1020. It is very important for all families to complete the intent to return form for scholars as we are beginning to make preparations for next school year.


Sincerely,


Detra Coleman, Ed.S.

Trix Academy School Leader

Facts About Attendance

Trix Academy is continuing to help all of our scholars participate in the learning process on a consistent basis. As mentioned in previous newsletters, attendance has a major impact on the success of our scholars. A few additional facts regarding attendance are listed below.


  • Poor attendance can influence whether children read proficiently by the end of third grade or be held back.


  • When students improve their attendance rates, they improve their academic prospects and chances for graduating.


During our monthly assemblies and recognition ceremonies, Trix Academy will shed the spotlight on those who showing positive attendance by logging into classes on a consistent basis. Look for more information regarding our Brag Award Ceremonies.

Black History Month Art Contest - Ending Soon

During the month of February, scholars will create artwork inspired by Black History. All scholar submissions should be their own original artwork. Examples may include: famous people, symbols, or settings. If you are in need of art supplies (i.e., color pencils, crayons, paper, etc.), please contact Mr. Robertson at b.robertson@mecc-academies.org or Ms. Coleman at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.



Acceptable Mediums

- Painting

- Drawings

- Photography

- Digital Art


Submission Method

In Blackboard each homeroom will have a folder that will have an assignment labeled “Black History Art Contest.” Each scholar will be able to submit up to three entries.


Submission Deadline

2/22/2021


Winners Announced

3/1/2021

Kickboard Parent Access Codes

As a gentle reminder, all parents have access to their child(ren) Kickboard account. If you have misplaced your access code, please do not hesitate to reach out to your child(ren) teacher.

Accepting Applications

Trix Academy is accepting new scholar applications. If you are aware of a family who is searching for a safe, nurturing and educationally focused school, please call the office at (313) 426-1020 or visit http://trix.mecc-academies.org for enrollment information.

Laptop Care and Tips

Many of our scholars have received devices for virtual learning. Below are a few tips to ensure the technology devices are not accidently damaged or lost.


  • Ensure the case remains on the iPad or Chromebook
  • Ensure food and drinks are not around the technology device
  • Ensure scholars are stationary when using the iPad or Chromebook
  • Monitor data usage on the hotspot
  • When lessons have concluded for the day, ensure the scholar places the device in the same location for the next day
  • Ensure technology devices are plugged in to charge at the end of the school day in order for scholars to have a fully charged device for the next school day.


If you have any questions, please let me know via email at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org or by calling the office at (313) 426-1020.

Breakfast

Trix Academy serves breakfast daily from 8:05am - 8:30am in each classroom to ensure social distancing is being observed. It is very important for all scholars to arrive at breakfast time to eat breakfast and begin learning at the start of instructional time.

Staff Email Addresses


Leadership

Detra Coleman, Principal - d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Sheilene Smith, Office Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org


Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Sharon Dye, Lead Teacher - s.dye@mecc-academies.org

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org



Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher Assistant - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Darryle Cross, Teacher Assistant - d.cross@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher Assistant - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Christine Truesdell, Teacher - c.truesdell@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher Assistant - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher Intern - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, Teacher Assistant - a.keys@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Paige DeRue, Teacher Assistant - p.derue@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org

Parent Forum

Thursday, Feb. 11th, 9:30am

This is an online event.

Join us for our February Parent Forum. Learn more about the Parent Portal in Kickboard and additional tips to help ensure your child(ren) are successful during the third card marking. We look forward to seeing everyone virtually!


Link:

https://meet.google.com/bup-mxdf-hvs


Join by phone

‪(US) +1 276-695-5141‬ PIN: ‪976 847 275‬#