NEAAAT News

World Class STEM Education For All

Week of March 4, 2018

Pi Day - March 14th

Ten days till Pi Day! What is your team color? Will you participate in Hula hoops, Pi Posters, Pi Kick the Ball, Cornhole, Ring Bottle Toss, Reciting the Digits of Pi, Pie Eating Contest, Bull's Eye Toss, Egg Toss, Dizzy Bat, Pi 5 K, Pi Bake Off, Pi Hockey or Pi Basketball Free Throws? Sign up with your Team this week! #neaaatspirit #piday
What a treat it was for NEAAAT students to listen to Mr. Wayne P.James play on February 28th! Many thanks to Coach O'Neal Pullie for bringing Mr. Wayne P. James to NEAAAT. His jazz performance, history lessons and personal anecdotes were an enlightening, entertaining and educational culmination to Black History Month. (photo credits: Mike Everett)

Ticket Sales Start for the HS Formal

HS Formal ticket sales will begin on Wednesday, March 7, 2018. Students can see any committee member (Shayla Spence, Robert Spruill, or Kasey Brown) to purchase tickets for only $10 until 3/28/2018. Ticket prices will go up to $15 after 3/28/2018. This year, the HS Formal will be held on April 20th.

Green on Green Expo

Saturday, March 24th

10 am -2 pm
Museum of The Albemarle
Free Admission * Door Prizes * Live Music * Plant Sale * Kid Activities * Food Trucks * Wind Turbine Tours * Vendors * Exhibitors

Raleigh National College Fair

Students can gather information, attend workshops and talk to representatives from many schools at Spring National College Fair Greater Raleigh. The event is free to high-school students, parents and anyone else interested in higher education. In addition to gathering brochures and catalogs about the colleges, students can meet one-on-one with admissions representatives at their booths to discuss entrance requirements, campus life, application deadlines, and majors. Representatives are also available to answer any questions students and parents may have, to set up college interviews, or to discuss the various financial aid programs available at their respective college or university. This 1 day event is being organized by National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC).

Residential Seminar for High School Women

This if for rising 10th, 11th, and 12th grade students. Cost is $395. Register online at the link below and let me know if I can help. Thanks!


Residential Seminar for High School Women

June 25-28, 2018

Young women face few decisions more challenging than what to do after high school. At Meredith College, we believe it is helpful for high school women to have the opportunity to explore what college life is “really like.”

For the 40th year, we’re offering this seminar to help rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors examine their values and increase their skills in decision making, goal setting, and preparing for college success.

Workshop Sessions

Making Decisions and Setting Goals
A map is always helpful if you are going somewhere new. Begin the journey to your future by learning techniques for setting goals and reaching your objectives.

Values Clarification
This workshop will help you explore attitudes, choices, and relationships.Think about what you want from your future college studies, your social life, and your career as you consider the question, “What do I care about most in life?”

Career Planning
Explore the possibilities of life after college in this session about the world of work. Your career interests may help you determine which college you should attend.

College Selection
Selecting the right learning environment is very important. Group and individual sessions will help you find the answers to questions such as “How do I apply to schools that interest me?” and “Which college would be best for me?”

Study Skills
This session will help you understand the academic demands of college so you can develop effective study skills and time management techniques.

Communication Skills
Learn effective ways to express your feelings, actively listen, and stand up for your rights without infringing upon the rights of others. You will have an opportunity to develop these important skills that will help you succeed in college and in today’s world.

Additional Activities
In addition, panels and informal meetings with college faculty, staff, and students will provide you with an opportunity to discuss social relationships (friends!), residence life (fun!), career decisions (future!), and more. Social activities and time to enjoy the recreational facilities at Meredith complete your four-day stay on our campus.

Apply here: https://www.meredith.edu/summer-programs/looking-toward-college

School Calendar

www.northeastacademy.org/calendar

March 9 - Early Release 12:30 pm

March 11 - Daylight Savings Time

March 12 - RLP - students should login by 9am

March 14 - Pi Day

March 24 - Green Saves Green Expo

April 2 - 6 - Spring Break

April 20 - HS Formal

April 30 - Applications for new students due by midnight

May 5 - NEAAAT Application Lottery

Amazon Smile Helps NEAAAT

When shopping with Amazon, consider logging in at www.smile.amazon.com and registering for NEAAAT to receive 0.5% of your purchases. Participation is free and at no cost to the consumer.

We are TEAM NEAAAT:

Chief Executive Officer

Andrew Harris ceo@northeastacademy.org


Chief Operations Officer

Tonya Little tonyalittle@northeastacademy.org


Finance, Internships & Communications

Holly J. Luther hollyluther@northeastacademy.org


Guidance Counselor

Phil Huey philhuey@northeastacademy.org


Dean of Students

Devin Wilder devinwilder@northeastacademy.org


Instructional Facilitator

Leah Robertson leahrobertson@northeastacademy.org


School Support Specialist

Jennifer McNeill jennifermcneill@northeastacademy.org



7th grade team

Coach Hedley (Principles of Sci and Tech) - josephhedley@northeastacademy.org

Coach Nelson (ELA/SS) - lindanelson@northeastacademy.org

Coach Persico (Science) - josephpersico@northeastacademy.org

Coach Pullie (Design) - onealpullie@northeastacademy.org

Coach Turner (Math) - samanthaturner@northeastacademy.org

8th grade team

Coach Gaffney (Math) - collyngaffney@northeastacademy.org

Coach Rook (ELA/SS) - debrarook@northeastacademy.org

Coach West (Science) - deborahwest@northeastacademy.org

Coach D. Wilder (Design Thinking) - devinwilder@northeastacademy.org

Coach Sanderson - keshawnsanderson@northeastacademy.org

High School Team

Coach Lisa Alcott - lisaalcott@northeastacademy.org

Coach Lelani Armijo - lelaniarmijo@northeastacademy.org

Coach Rhonad Britton - rhondabritton@northeastacademy.org

Coach Kasey Brown - kaseybrown@northeastacademy.org

Coach Mike Everette - michaeleverett@northeastacademy.org

Coach Melanie Koerber - melaniekoerber@northeastacademy.org

Coach Shala Spence - shalaspence@northeastacademy.org

Coach Robert Spruill - robertspruill@northeastacademy.org

Coach Elton Stone - eltonstone@northeastacademy.org

Coach Chris Wilder - chriswilder@northeastacademy.org

Exceptional Children's Department

Coach Katie Koch - katiekoch@northeastacademy.org

Coach Peter Bruderle - peterbruderle@northeastacademy.org

Bus Drivers & Assistant Coaches

Tyrone Dillard - tyronedillard@northeastacademy.org

Judy Gregory - judygregory@northeastacademy.org

Gerald Walker - geraldwalker@northeastacademy.org

Paula Wynn - paulawynn@northeastacademy.org