The Civil War

Cool facts about the War and famous battles

You will experience some awesome and interesting facts in this Flyer!

In 1860 through 1861, eleven southern states seceded, which means they left the U.S. to make their own country.

They called themselves the Confederate States of America.

The twenty four states that stayed with America were called the Union.

Confederate states fired on a fort called fort Sumter, and then the Civil War began.

President Lincoln believed that if he let states keep seceding whenever they wanted it would set a bad example for the future.

The tenth Amendment of the Constitution does give each and every state the right to make their own laws as long as they don't go against federal law.

But the north and south disagreed about how those federal laws should be.

Big image