Story File

By: Danica DesRoches

Introductory Language and Literacy for EA's

Credenda Virtual College

Courtney Goerzen

The Skin You Live In

Author: Michael Tyler

Illustrator: David Lee Csicsko

Age Group: 4-8 years

Publisher: Chicago Children's Museum

Copyright: 2005

Summary- This story focuses on all the different colors of skin. It has rhyming verses that are cute and fun for children. It emphasizes on skin, being something that is individually different, can also have similarities. Some of these similarities are skin that you can sleep in, dream in, eat in, play outside in. This book teaches children to be happy with the skin they were born with. It also teaches children to accept others who look different than they do.

The Cow That Went Oink

Author: Bernard Most

Illustrator: Bernard Most

Age Group: 3-5

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Copyright: 1990

Summary- This book is about a cow that says oink instead of moo. The cow gets laughed at. The cow then finds a pig who says moo. They decide to teach each other both moo and oink. They get the last laugh because all the other animals can only say one thing. This story teaches the importance of helping others even if they are different.

Don't Call Me Special: A First Look at Disability

Author: Pat Thomas

Illustrator: Lesley Harker

Age Group: 4-8

Publisher: Barron's Educational Series

Copyright: 2002

Summary- This book is about people with physical disabilities. The book points out that we are all different and everyone has there strengths and weaknesses. It also explains that children with disabilities need different kinds of help, and what that may be. This book is a great tool for children to help them learn about disabilities. It gives the children a better understanding and teaches them acceptance.

Whoever You Are

Author: Mem Fox

Illustrator: Leslie Staub

Age Group: 4-8

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Copyright: 2006

Summary- This book tells a story that even though children live all over the world and have different nationalities, races, and languages they still feel the same emotions. It explains that there hearts can feel the same things. This book teaches children about peace, and acceptance. Even though children can live all over the world and do different things they can still love the same as you.

My Brother Charlie

Author: Holly Robinson Peete and Ryan Elizabeth Peete

Illustrator: Shane Evans

Age Group: 6-8

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Copyright: 2010

Summary- This book is co-written by the author and her daughter. Her daughter tells the story about her brother Charlie who has autism. She describes there similarities such as: their looks and likes. She also describes there differences. She talks about the unique things that Charlie does. Those unique things make Charlie who he is, and his family loves him for that. This book teaches children about autism and talks about the different traits autistic children have.

The Crayon Box that Talked

Author: Shane DeRolf

Illustrator: Michael Letzig

Age Group: 3-7

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Copyright: 1997

Summary- This book is about different colors of crayons living in the same box, who could not get along. They did not like each other. A little girl takes the crayons home and starts to color with them. The crayons realize that the picture they make together is very exciting. More so than the pictures they make individually. This book teaches children to work together, even if they are different, and to accept ones differences.

Families Are Different

Author: Nina Pellegrini

Illustrator: Nina Pellegrini

Age Group: 4-8

Publisher: Holiday House

Copyright: 1991

Summary- This book is about a young Korean girl who feels she is different from all her friends. Her friends and their families all look a like, but she does not look like hers. She was adopted. Her mother tells her that no matter how different families are each family has love holding them together. The little girl goes on to explore her city and finds a lot of diversity in families. That is when she realizes that she is just like everyone else. This book teaches children that families can look different then their own.