The Nine Muses

godesses of the arts


As the story goes the parents of the nine Muses, Zeus and Mnemosyne, slept together for nine consective nights therefor creating nine Muses. The Muses are known for the arts. Music, literature, and poems all fall under the arts category making the Muses created for all of those. Muse means to denote memory or a reminder. Historians think this is because when there were no books the Muses were the ones writing poems and literature.

The Nine Muses

Cilo, Euterpe, Thalia, Melopomeni, Tersichore, Erato, Polymnia, Ourania, and Calliope are the names of the nine Muses. Different Muses came up with different concepts and theorys. Two came up with the theory of learning. Three invented musical vibrations. Four created languages and dialect. Five of the Muses created the five senses, and seven Muses created seven different chords of music.


The Muses have inspired many people with their arts. They have inspired everyone from music to literature and some people even look to them for science. They have learned from the best and now have become the best. Apollo was a wonderful teacher and now these Nine Muses are known very highly for their arts.

Works Cited

"Muses." World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras. ABC-CLIO, 2014. Web. 7 Nov. 2014.

- - -. The Family of the Gods. N.p.: Peter Bedrick, 1983. Print.
Pinset, John. The Family of the Gods. N.p.: Peter Bedrick, 1983. Print.
"The Muses." Greek N.p., 2000. Web. 9 Nov. 2014.
"Greek Myths and Greek Mythology." The Nine Muses of Greek Mythology. N.p.,
2014. Web. 9 Nov. 2014. <