The Weekly STEAM Blast

STEAM Academy at McCluer South-Berkeley High School

PLEASE JOIN US - STEAM High Curriculum Night - This Thursday 9/19, at 6 PM - 8 PM

  • 6 PM, Theater Presentation (Title 1 Information and PTG Executive Board Introduction)
  • 6:20 PM, Advisory
  • 6:30 PM, 1st hour
  • 6:40 PM, 2nd hour
  • 6:50 PM, 3rd hour
  • 7:00 PM, 4th hour
  • 7:10 PM, 5th hour
  • 7:20 PM, 6th hour
  • 7:30 PM, 7th hour
  • 7:40 PM, 8th hour
  • 8:00 PM, Evening concludes

STEAM High Important Dates: Mark Your Calendars

9/16 - 9/19: STEAM High Uniforms EVERY DAY

9/18 - Progress reports issued electronically

9/19: Early Dismissal for Students, 11:40 AM

9/19: Curriculum Night & PTG Presentation, 6 PM

9/20: No school for students

9/26: Raising Cane's STEAM High Fundraiser, 4 PM - 1 AM

10/17: School Pictures

**10/26: HOMECOMING - NEW DATE


**Please note, the Student Government has decided to postpone our Homecoming festivities in order to provide more time for planning.

Big picture

STEAM High Messaging: What to Expect and When

Emails going to spam?

To eliminate the emails from going to your spam folder, please add ichoosesteamhigh@fergflor.org as one of your contacts.


Download the district APP on your phone for immediate notification of district messaging.

Big picture

LEARNING CORNER - 7 Mindsets, Unit 1: Everything is Possible

Big picture

Head to FISCHER's NOW - if you still need to order a uniform

A Message from the Manager of Fischer's:

Fischer's is running a bit behind in filling orders and will fill all purchases in the order received - between now and August 7th. The store is working extended hours in order to complete STEAM High Orders before August 7th.


Even if you did not meet the July 10th deadline (for blazers) you still need to get your uniform ordered as soon as possible. Students are expected to wear the white polo with embroidered crest/the white oxford with embroidered crest and khaki's starting August 15th - the first day of school.


What to Buy at Fischer's:

  • Choose either a polo shirt option and/or an oxford shirt option
  • If you choose an Oxford, select a tie option (ascot, bow or long)
  • Order a fitted blue blazer
  • PE Uniform - ONLY if you have PE on your Schedule


All other uniform components can be purchased elsewhere, such as khaki pants, skorts and skirts, white or black dress and tennis shoes, and a belt


Students who attended STEAM Middle and still have a uniform that fits may wear it to STEAM High


Thank you to more than half our families who have already had a fitting!

STEAM High Uniform Tips and Expectations-

Uniform Responsibility Reminders will start being processed on Monday 8/23 for students out of uniform. Please follow the uniform guidelines noted in the Student Expectations Code.


Please take a few moments to MARK your student's NAME into the lining of the inside of their STEAM High blazer. This will assist tremendously if your student's jacket is brought to the lost and found.


STEAM High students must wear the Blue Blazer if they are chilly or want to wear a jacket. Other jackets (such as hoodies, windbreakers, denim jackets, etc.) do not meet the uniform code.


**NEW PROCESS: Starting Tuesday 9/3, students wearing non-uniform jackets during advisory and beyond will be required to check their coats in addition to receiving a responsibility reminder.


To avoid the coat check process, students who wear non-uniform jackets to school are advised to put them inside their locker immediately upon arrival to school.

UMSL Bridge Program - Enroll Now!

The UMSL Bridge Saturday Academy is a free college prep program that provides motivated students with a preview of the college experience. Academic enrichment courses are provided in math, science, writing, college and career prep, and ACT prep. For seniors, they also provide intensive support throughout the college application process.


The Bridge Academy takes place on UMSL’s campus the first two Saturdays of the month, from October through February, and is open to all high school students. See the below image for details and registration requirements.

Big picture

CONGRATULATIONS UMSL Summer Bridge Academy Completers and STEAM High Students!

High school students throughout the St. Louis metropolitan area were selected to actively participate in the 2019 Bridge Summer Academy Program. All participants attended classes and workshops on the UMSL campus Monday through Friday from June 17, 2019 through July 11, 2019. The program concluded with a recognition ceremony celebrating the successes of 200 St. Louis area student participants on Friday, July 12, 2019 at the St. Louis Airport Renaissance Hotel.


We are excited to inform you of the following student(s) from McCluer South Berkeley (STEAM) High School who have successfully completed the 2019 Bridge Program Summer Academy:

McCluer South Berkeley (STEAM) High School

Jazlyn McCloud 10th Grade

Martinique Payne 11th Grade


Get involved in the UMSL Bridge Program this fall. Follow the link below for opportunities!

Big picture

The STEAM Team - Teacher Email Addresses

English

Liz Carron: ecarron@fergflor.org

Tom Fontana: tfontana@fergflor.org

Math

Malinda Baker: dobaker@fergflor.org

Rhonda Johnson: rkjohnson@fergflor.org

Science

Sarah Winstead: swinstead@fergflor.org

Elly Rock: erock@fergflor.org

Cristina Gratton: cgratton@fergflor.org

Social Studies

Marc Manning: mmanning@fergflor.org

Julie Williams: jwilliams@fergflor.org

French

Juanita Gurski: jgurski@fergflor.org

Physical Education

Matt Grogan: dgrogan@fergflor.org

Music

Darby Dachroeden: ddachroeden@fergflor.org

Business

Harvey Love: hlove@fergflor.org

Bradley Johnson: bjohnson@fergflor.org

Spanish

James Muth: jmuth@fergflor.org

Art

Amanda McDonald: amcdonald@fergflor.org

Library

Yvonne Bonner: ybonner@fergflor.org

Read More Books - Tips from the Harvard Business Review

Want to Read Books More? Read Your Phone Less



Maybe you think you don’t have enough time to read books. But consider how many texts, emails, and tweets you read each day — and how much time you’d get back by cutting some of that out of your life. Making your phone less addictive can help. Move all apps off the main screen so that your phone is blank when you open it. Use Do Not Disturb to quiet your notifications. If your screen is cracked, leave it that way. And for a real challenge, keep your charger in the basement (or anywhere hard to reach). Next, change your reading habits. Instead of using a Kindle or an iPad, try paper books. They immerse you in the story, they show off what you’re reading to others — and best of all, they don’t interrupt you with text messages. To motivate yourself, remember: Research has shown that reading makes us more empathetic, compassionate, and understanding.

Adapted from “8 Ways to Read the Books You Wish You Had Time For,” by Neil Pasricha