Welcome to Kazakhstan

The religious dress code for men and womenm


1. The hijab (covering) must conceal the entire body except the face and the hands.

2. It should not be translucent or tight. Tight clothes, even if they conceal the colour of the skin, still describe the size and shape of the body or part of it, and create vivid images.

3. It should not attract the attention of the opposite gender; thus it should not be extravagant or excessively opulent. Nor should jewellery and makeup be on display.

4. It should not be a garment worn because of vanity or to gain popularity or fame. The female companions were known to wear black and other dark colours but other colours are permissible; a woman must not however wear colourful clothes because of vanity.

5. It should not be perfumed. This prohibition applies to both the body and the clothes.

6. It should not resemble the clothing worn by men.

7. It should not resemble the clothing that is specific to the non-Muslims.


1. The part of the body from the naval to the knees should be covered.

2. It should not resemble the clothing that is specific to the non-Muslims. Western clothing that does not represent a certain group or sect is normally permitted.

3. It should not resemble the clothing worn by women.

4. It should not be tight or see-through.

5. A man is not permitted to wear garments made of silk, or jewellery made of gold.

6. Two types of adornment are forbidden to men but permitted for women. These are, gold and clothing made of pure silk.

Foods That You Can't Eat

-Pork, lard or any porcine substance

-Gelatine from animal source which is not halal

-Meat that is not slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way

-Meat coming from a lawful animal which died before slaughter

-Blood (direct or indirect)

-Any food or drink with alcohol in it (all intoxicant and hazardous drinks)

-Any human substance or part

-All carnivorous animals and birds of prey

-Some non halal additives (E numbers like E120, E441, E542 etc)

All other foods in Kazakhstan

Religious Rituals, Holy Days, and festivals

The Islam Rituals-

1). Akikah. An informal birth ceremony. This ceremony is not practiced widely.

2). Shadada. The marking of a young Muslim’s formal entry into Islam. There is no set age for this rite, though it is most commonly celebrated during the teenage years.

3). Marriage Ritual. Witnesses observe the groom’s formal offer of marriage and the brides acceptance of it. There is no elaborate ceremony. The waleemah is the reception which includes music and dancing.

4).Funerals and Mourning. This includes the recitation of the janazah (prayers for the dead) at the gravesite and may include a service at the funeral home. Muslims do not condone cremation and burial of the dead takes place within 24 hours of death. The official mourning period for a family member is 40 days.

The Islam Holy Days and Festivals-

1). Ramadan. This Holy Festival takes place in the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. It is a time of fasting and daily repentance.

2).Lailat ul-Qadr – The final 10 days of Ramadan. Muslims celebrate Muhammad’s first revelation.

3).Id al-Fitr – The feast period just after the month long fast of Ramadan. It lasts for three days.

4).Id ul-Adha. Two to three months after Ramadan, animals are slaughtered to benefit the poor. The purpose of the the Id ul-Adha is to celebrate the faithfulness and obedience of Abraham.

5).Al-Isra Wal Miraj. Celebrated on the 27th Day of the 7th month in the Islamic Calendar. It marks Muhammad’s journey from Mecca.

6).Maulid al-Nabi. Celebrates the birth of Muhammad.

Basic Beliefs of the Religion

The most needed beliefs to know are the five pillars.

The 5 pillars of the Islamic Religion are-

1). Shahadah (declaration of faith): "I bear witness that there is no god, but God; I bear witness that Muhammad is the prophet of God." By reciting this, one enters Islamic faith.

2). Salaah (prayer): Muslims are required to pray five times a day, washing themselves before prayer and facing in the direction of Mecca while praying.

3). Zakat (charity): Muslims are required to give away a percentage of their earnings to those less fortunate, regardless of their religion.

4). Saum (fasting): Muslims fast for one lunar month each year, a period called Ramadan. During this time, Muslims reflect on their behaviour and strive to purify their thoughts.

5). Hajj (pilgrimage): If it is financially possible, Muslims are required to travel to Mecca once in their lifetime.

Your Hotal

Your Hotal in Aktobe, Kazakhstan will be booked for you when you arrive. This Hotal will be booked for 7 nights and will cost you $1,293 in total. It is a one bedroom, one bath and you are very close to the Mecca.