HCS Index

HCS Community Meeting - January 21, 2020

Big picture

January 2020 HCS Community Meeting

The Hoover Board of Education will hold its third of five Community Meetings planned for the 2019-2020 School Year tonight - Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at the clubhouse of the Riverchase Landing Apartments (complex has two entrances: River Haven Circle is nearest to clubhouse; River Haven Lane is just down from clubhouse).

The meeting is open to all and begins at 6:00 p.m. This is an opportunity for any interested stakeholder to hear updates from/interact with the Superintendent, Central Office Staff, and the Board of Education.

All 2019-2020 HCS Community Meetings will be held from 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. We will follow up with additional information ahead of each meeting if needed. Please mark your calendars.

The final HCS Community Meeting of the 2019-2020 School Year will be in March, details forthcoming.

While You are Here....

Surprise Teacher of the Year Announcements! Check out the video....

HCS Teachers of the Year 2019-2020 School Year
HCS teachers of the year photo with McPeake and Besch

Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year

Kaitlin McPeake (Rocky Ridge Elementary) and Rebecca Besch (Berry Middle School) have been named Hoover City Schools 2019-2020 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year! Both were notified in surprise school visits on Tuesday, December 17, 2019.

McPeake teaches 4th grade and has been teaching 10 years. Besch teaches 7th grade English Language Arts and has been teaching 20 years.

Both now advance to compete in the Alabama Teacher of the Year competition. Congratulations!

We applaud ALL Hoover City Schools Teachers of the Year (below). Thank you for your outstanding contributions to teaching and learning.

HCS Teachers of the Year

HCS 2019-2020 School Year Teachers of the Year


  • Bluff Park: Ana Terpo
  • Brock's Gap: Emily Fogleman
  • Deer Valley: Suzanne Dunbar
  • Green Valley: Kristina Fowler
  • Greystone: Cherry Johnson
  • Gwin: Stephanie Williams
  • Riverchase: Michele Ross
  • Rocky Ridge: Kaitlin McPeake
  • Shades Mountain: Sara Thomas
  • South Shades Crest: Karen Miles
  • Trace Crossings: Hannah Johnson


  • R.F. Bumpus: Christy Hall
  • Berry: Rebecca Besch
  • Simmons: Amanda Giles


  • Hoover: Lisa Smith
  • Spain Park: Victoria Bye

About Hoover City Schools

Our award-winning, nationally-ranked school district features highly-motivated students, skilled and caring educators, and engaged parents.

EEOC Notice