Ms. Klein's Second Grade Newsletter

Monday, May 2, 2016

This Week...

Reading: We will be using a core literature book this week with reading, Arthur Writes a Story by Marc Brown. The students will be using their knowledge about writing to figure out ways to help Arthur write a story for his class assignment. This story goes hand in hand with our white books we are working on.

Spelling: The students took their LIfetime words for second grade as their pretest today in spelling. There were 28 words given. I have HIGHLIGHTED the words that they are responsible for knowing for our test on Friday.

Science: With sad news our chicks did not survive the life cycle. The students were very understanding this morning and we discussed that they can visit DeAnna Rose Farmstead to see real live chicks! We will start our plant unit to wrap up the school year!

Writing: Our white books went home on Friday with details on how to complete them at home. The letter from me was copied from Mrs. Wiens, please know that our class was given the option to write about what they picked to write about and what the letter states. If you have any questions please let me know.

Upcoming Black Bob Dates

Teacher Appreciation Week!

Monday, May 2 A Day

8:30-11:30 STUCO field trip (2nd Semester Representatives + Officers)

Tuesday, May 3 B Day

Wednesday, May 4 C Day

Flower pick up from PTA fundraiser

Thursday, May 5 D Day

3:00 BRAGS (due to field day)

Friday, May 6 E Day

Happy School Lunch Day! Thank you, Mia!!

FIELD DAY (schedule and packet coming soon)

Sunday , May 8

Happy Mother's Day

Next Week

Monday, May 9 A Day

9:00 2nd Grade Safety House

6:30 5th Grade Celebration

Tuesday, May 10 B Day

Wednesday, May 11 C Day

Thursday, May 12 D Day

White Books DUE!

7:00 PTA meeting

Friday, May 13 E Day

Wacky Hair Day--Spirit Day