Facebook for Kids

The facts about our students using Facebook

Kids On Facebook

Some Facts to Remember

  • Facebook has an age requirement, you must be 13 years old to be on Facebook.
  • Facebook has a way of verifying age, if there are things that cause concern that a person is younger than they claim (such as having tagged photos with people of younger ages) they will flag the users page for removal.

  • From January 2009 to January 2010, the 13-to-17-year-old age group grew about 88 percent in the U.S., jumping from about 5.7 million teenage Facebook users to almost 10.7 million.

  • Minors do not have public search listings created for them when they sign up for Facebook.

  • If a minor's privacy settings are set to “Everyone,” that includes only friends, friends of friends, and people within the child's verified school or work network.

  • Only people within a minor's “Friends of Friends” network can message them.

  • The average age when a child begins regularly going online is 8.

  • About 5 million Facebook users are under the age of 10.

  • 51% of kids have been bullied online and 49% say they were an online bully.

  • 50% of parents have installed parental controls for their kids online interactions.

  • 72% of parents worry that their kids will reveal inappropriate information online.
Big image
Big image

Questions to Consider When Thinking of Pros and Cons

  1. What if your child was being cyber-bullied?
  2. What would you tell your 12 year-old if they asked you to get a Facebook?
  3. How would you go about monitoring your child's Facebook?
  4. How do you feel about posting information about your child or their friends on your Facebook?
  5. How would you prevent or intervene if your child creates a Facebook before they are 13 without your permission?

Tips for Facebook Safety

Facebook's Policies and Tips


Steps to edit to Facebook Privacy:


  1. Log onto Facebook
  2. Click button at top right corner, downward arrow
  3. Click "settings"
  4. Click "Privacy" on side bar
  5. Click the "edit" buttons on the right side
  6. Click the downward error to change who can view things

*In addition to clicking "privacy" from step 4, click "Timeline and Tagging" to change settings.