By: Mikaela Mookini

What is a whale?

Whales are Ceteceans. Ceteceans have two sub catagories, baleen and toothed. All dolphins are whales but not all whales are dolphins.
Big image

Beluga Whale


Common Name - Beluga whale or White Whale

Scientific Name - Delphinapterus leucas

Big image


Beluga whales live in artic oceans coastal waters and sometimes found in sub-artic waters. They migrate southward during the winter because the sea freezes over. Animals trapped in the ice die or became prey for polar bears, killer whales and Artic people.
Big image


Beluga whales are known for their color. Calves are born grey or light brown, but bleach out as they mature. Beluga whales can reach up to 3000 lbs and 14-20 ft long. They have a life span of 35-50 years. They have no dorsal fin and rounded foreheads. They live in large family pods and are very social and vocal animals.
Big image


Beluga whales feed on fish, crustaceans, and worms.
Big image


In the north, they are hunted by Artic people and commercial fisherman to near extinction.
Big image

Random Facts

  • They are heavier than pianos but short than a school bus
  • They have a layer of blubber five inches thick
  • They have flexible necks allowing them to turn their heads in all directions