Knox News!

May 2020

Welcome To May!

Hello Knox Families!


Welcome to May!


We have fully launched into Distance Learning. Our students are doing an amazing job logging in and completing their online coursework and attending virtual office hours. As a reminder, attendance for participation is taken every Friday. Students need to log into all of their classes each week, and upload the classwork to their Google Classrooms or Canvas. Click here, to learn about how to navigate our Distance Learning websites.


8th Grade Distance Learning Website


7th Grade Distance Learning Website


6th Grade Distance Learning Website


Students also need to complete 1 article in Achieve 3000 each week (in Clever). The assigned articles are as follows:

Week 1: (4/27 - 5/1 ) -"Tough Times on Easter Island"

Week 2: (5/4 - 5/8) - "Hip-Hop History"

Week 3: (5/11 - 5/15 )- "Best Video Game Ever?"

Week 4: (5/18 - 5/21 ) - "Frozen in Time"

Week 5: (5/25 - 5/29) - "Chillaxin’ at about 1,320,000 ft"

Week 6: (6/1- 6/5 ) - "Classrooms of the Future"


Thank you to all of the Knox parents that have been attending our weekly virtual parent coffee sessions (10am every Friday). We value your partnership.


Our 3 grade-level websites have now been fully launched to support an organized learning experience for students.


On each grade level website, students and parents can find:


  • A list of weekly assignments
  • Weekly announcements
  • Schedule of office hours
  • Links to teacher digital classrooms (Google or Canvas)
  • Weekly student planner document


In addition, our Knox team has created a Family Corner website for parents, which contains the following:


  • Technology support information
  • Library of Parent Coffee Presentations
  • Covid-19 Resources
  • Food Distribution Information
  • Supports for Distance Learning


We will continue to send out information to our Knox families via our Knox Social Media sites (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Smore Newsletters), as well as our School Messenger Program.

If you have changed your phone number or email, please reach out to us ASAP, so we can update our Power School system.


Parents, here are some resources to support safety online and digital citizenship:


Resources for Internet Safety and Social Media Responsibility:

https://kidshealth.org/en/parents/social-media-smarts.html

https://kidshealth.org/en/teens/internet-safety.html

https://kidshealth.org/en/teens/cyberbullying.html?WT.ac=t-ra

https://kidshealth.org/en/parents/net-safety.html



Thank you for your partnership,


Sincerely,

Principal Potter


GO BULLDOGS!!

Big picture

Distance Learning Has Begun

Watch this video!

Click the pictures for the grade-level distance learning websites

SDUSD COVID-19 Resources

Knox Instructional Resources

Positive School Culture and Climate

Big picture

Bulldog Way

Big picture

Parent Portal- Grades and Attendance

How To Access Grades and Attendance in Parent Portal

To get a copy of your password, please call 619-344-5500 or email kojetti@sandi.net

Power School Parent Portal Video-English

Directions on how to access your student's grades and attendance

Join us for virtual coffee every Friday!

Big picture

Food Services Information

Food Distribution Centers Are Open!

Monday, May 4th, 11am

445 South 47th Street

San Diego, CA

Food Is served At Porter North from 11am-1pm Monday-Friday

Food Distribution Centers Are Open

Monday, May 4th, 11am

1404 South 40th Street

San Diego, CA

Food is served at Chavez Elementary from 11am-1pm Monday-Friday

Knox Partnerships 19-20

Join the mailing list- email hpotter@sandi.net

Key Contacts At Knox:

Principal-Heather Potter- hpotter@sandi.net


Vice Principal- Angelica Hueso-Garcia- ahueso@sandi.net

Google Voice- 619-500-6019


Head Counselor-M-Z- Lori Watkins- lcruz@sandi.net

Google Voice-619-500-6572


Counselor- A-L- Sherri Penaloza- sbaildon@sandi.net

Google Voice-619-894-6098


Restorative Practices Coordinator-Jeff Ponsford- jponsford@sandi.net


Registration/Attendance-Leticia Alva Sanchez- lalvasanchez@sandi.net

Google Voice-619-512-3532.


Site Tech- Power School Parent Portal- Kristen Ojetti- kojetti@sandi.net

Google Voice-970-919-0119


Elizabeth Harris-Attendance- eharris3@sandi.net

Google Voice-619-880-9355


Admin Assist-Linda Dozier- ldozier@sandi.net


Parent Liason- Marthita Huezo- mhuezo@sandi.net


Health Tech-Monica Diaz-mdiaz6@sandi.net

Google Voice-619 292-8817

Big picture