Bear Business

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Closed Campus - STAAR

Our 2nd round of STAAR testing will be coming up! We are excited for our 3rd and 4th graders to show all that they know on their Reading and Math tests, and our 5th graders on their Science test. 5th graders that did not pass on the first round of testing will retest. The campus will be closed Monday - Thursday to visitors and volunteers to protect our testing environment.


Monday, May 14 - 3rd and 4th Grade STAAR Math, 5th Grade STAAR Math Retakes

Tuesday, May 15 - 3rd and 4th Grade STAAR Reading, 5th Grade STAAR Reading Retakes

Wednesday, May 16 - 5th Grade STAAR Science, Makeups

Thursday, May 17 - Makeups

Field Day!

Join us for Field Day! It will be a great day of health and fun, Friday, May 18, 2018.


Students are encouraged to wear athletic clothes that can get wet!

Big picture

EOY Celebrations!

Join us for our EOY celebrations! Each grade level will celebrate the great memories from this year through songs, videos and sharing. This is a dress up event for our students.

April Learning Commons Newsletter . . .

April Counselor News . . .

Coming Up!

Thursday, April 26: Bike and Scooter Rally; Dowell Performance for 5th Grade at 9:30AM

Friday, April 27: Bad Weather Day - No School

Monday, April 30-May 4: Teacher/Staff Appreciation Week

Tuesday, May 1 – Teacher/Staff Appreciation Day 2, registration opens for new MISD students for 2018-2019 school year, 3rd grade field trip, Bear Buddy Meeting

Wednesday, May 2 – Teacher/Staff Appreciation Day 3, Progress Reports go home,

Thursday, May 3 – Teacher/Staff Appreciation Day 4, K-2nd Fine Arts Night - 4th/5th Choir Performance & 1st Grade Program

Friday, May 4 – Teacher/Staff Appreciation Day 5, kindergarten in-school field trip, 5th grade Growth & Development Videos, 4th/5th grades switch Specials for the day

Tuesday, May 8 – 5th grade field trip

Wednesday, May 9 – National School Nurse Day, National Paraprofessional Day, & National Bike to School Day

Friday, May 11 – 4th grade Growth & Development Videos, 5th grade Crape Myrtle Presentation

May 14-17 – Closed campus to all visitors & volunteers for STAAR

Monday, May 14 – 3rd/4th STAAR Math, 5th STAAR Math Retest

Tuesday, May 15 – 3rd/4th STAAR Reading, 5th STAAR Reading Retest, 1st grade field trip;

Aramark Discovery Day: Growums Harvest with Herbs

Wednesday, May 16 – 5th STAAR Science & Make-Ups

Thursday, May 17 – STAAR Make-Ups

Friday, May 18 – Field Day (K-2nd from 8:20-10:50), Schoolwide Lunch 11:00-12:00, and (3rd-5th from 12:15-2:15)

May 21-25 – College & Career Week

Monday, May 21 - K–5th Careers on Wheels 8:15-11:00, Incoming Kindergarten Story Time 12:30-1:00 in Learning Commons, STUCO Meeting 3:00-4:00, and MAP closes

Tuesday, May 22 – Wear your college shirt day, 3rd–5th Speakers, school wide BMX presentation 1:45-2:30, and PTO Chipotle 5:00-9:00

Wednesday, May 23 – 5th grade college presentations

Thursday, May 24 – 3rd Annual Senior Breakfast for graduating seniors 7:30-8:30, Incoming 6th grade parent meeting at Dowell Middle School at 9:30

Friday, May 25 – PTO Watch DOGS ends, last day of Alpha, & Friday Live at 2:15

Monday, May 28 – No school

Tuesday, May 29 – Kindergarten End of Year Celebration at 8:30, 5th grade End of Year Celebration at 2:00, 4th/5th switch Specials, and Creed Lunch at 11:30

Wednesday, May 30 - 1st grade EOY Celebration at 8:30, 4th grade EOY Celebration at 2:00, PTO Cherry Berry 3:00-9:00

Thursday, May 31 – 3rd grade EOY Celebration at 8:30 & 2nd grade EOY Celebration at 2:00

Friday, June 1 – Water for Otters presentation for students

Wednesday, June 6 – K-4th Class Parties 1:45-2:30, 5th grade Class Party - Lunch from 11:30–12:00, Pool Party 12:15-2:30

Thursday, June 7 – Last day of school, 5th grade parents allowed into the main hallways at 2:00, K-4th students/staff line the hallways at 2:05, 5th grade students/teachers enter the building by the kindergarten pod and walk the hallways & down the ramp to the flagpole at 2:10, Flag Lowering Ceremony at 2:30, K-5th back into the building at 2:45, and K-5th dismissal at 3:00

Thanks for your continued support of our campus!

Parent Feedback . . .

We always welcome your feedback. You are welcome to e-mail, call, or schedule a meeting with Mrs. Holderman and Mrs. Constantinescu. This is also a link to provide feedback, appreciations, compliments, concerns, or suggestions as we continue to ensure we are the BEST school in McKinney. https://goo.gl/forms/bViz4KSi6dEN415C3

Bennett 2017-2018: One Team, One Dream