Vanuatu ( République de Vanuatu )

Jaida Rorie

Where and what is vanuatu ?

Vanuatu is west of Figi and east of Australia.Vanuatu is a South Pacific archipelago made up of 83 small islands that are of volcanic origin. Around 65 of the islands are inhabited. The total population of Vanuatu is just over 200,000. Its capital is port Vila and The official languages are french, Bislama, and English. The continent is oceania

Things to do

There are many murals in port vila Vanuatu to vist. Explore the amazing water fall, sea plane riding, Horse riding, Snorkelling ect.

The french in vanuatu and the history

French is still spoken in Vanuatu, but English and Bislama are more commonly used. Humans beings have been living here for a very long time, approximately 3000 years. New Guinea were the first to colonize Vanuatu .Other migrations followed and continued for quite some time before people settled down. This included Captain Pedro Ferdinand De Quiros, Louis Antoine de Bougainville and of course, Captain James Cook. By the late 1800s, the French and British had settled in Vanuatu and had signed an agreement making it a condominium. By July 30 th 1980, Vanuatu became an independent nation.