Points of Pride (Week of March 25)

Alief ISD News and Recognitions

Alief ISD high school students advanced to national competitions after placing in the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) State Leadership Conference.

1st Place:

  • Impromptu Speaking - Salar Sanati (Kerr)
  • Word Processing - Precious Mbaeri (AECHS)

2nd Place:
  • 3D Animation - Trang Le, Steven Yeung and Thao Le (Kerr)
  • Accounting 2 - Diep Ly (Kerr)
  • Battle of the Chapters - Diep Ly, Aaron Wright, Megan Hoang and Steven Phung (Kerr)
  • Computer Game and Simulation - Elizabeth Luu and Ly Ha (Kerr)
  • Entrepreneurship - Azarel Garcia (AECHS)
  • Graphic Design Team - Jasymne Trishell and Oritseweyinmi Kuyatsemi (AECHS)
  • Help Desk - Mary Vu (Kerr)
  • Introduction into Public Speaking - Joshua Romero (Kerr)
  • Political Science - Aaron Wright (Kerr)
  • Public Speaking - Carlos Fuentes (AECHS)

3rd Place:
  • Accounting 2 - Tracy Van (Kerr)
  • Graphic Design - Vinh Phan (Kerr)
  • Insurance and Risk Management - Victoria Le (AECHS)
  • Local Chapter Annual Business Report - Mary Vu (Kerr)
  • Networking Concepts - Jacob Cruz (Kerr)

4th Place:

  • Healthcare Administration - Julie Ekumu (Kerr)

Taylor High School student Aysha Alam advanced to the Business Professionals of America (BPA) National Leadership Conference.

Alam placed fifth in the state in the Intermediate Word Processing Skills contest.

Alief ISD students win top prizes at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo (HLSR).

Kerr High School student Jennifer Vuong's colored drawing was sold for $10,000 at the HLSR School Art Auction. Vuong received a $2,500 scholarship, and the remainder of the proceeds went towards the Rodeo’s Educational Fund for use for scholarship and grant recipients.

Elsik High School students Lauren Andrade won Best of Show, while Jazmine Ortiz won Gold Medal at the 3-D Rodeo Art competition. Andrade also won a $2,500 scholarship at the HLSR auction.

Taylor High School student Isaiah Osazuwa was named KPRC's Senior Scholarship Program.

Osazuwa received $2,500. The scholarship program is sponsored by KPRC and Texas Mattress Makers.

Bi-District Boys Soccer Playoffs Information

Hastings vs Clear Lake

Date – Thursday, March 28, 2019

Location – Crump Stadium

Time – 6:00 pm

Cost - $5

Accepted Passes – 23/21-6A THSCA, THSADA, TASCO, TGCA (No Staff or Teacher ID’s Accepted)

Taylor vs Clear Falls

Date – Thursday, March 28, 2019

Location – The Rig – Pearland ISD

Time – 7:00 pm

Cost - $5

Accepted Passes – 23/21-6A THSCA, THSADA, TASCO, TGCA (No Staff or Teacher ID’s Accepted)

Elsik vs Dickinson

Date – Friday, March 29, 2019

Location – Crump Stadium

Time – 7:00 pm

Cost - $5

Accepted Passes – 23-6A THSCA, THSADA, TASCO, TGCA (No Staff or Teacher ID’s Accepted)

Elsik High School student Chukwuemeka Agu was spotlighted by Genesys Works in its annual report.

Agu is an IT intern at ConocoPhillips and detailed his Genesys Works experience in the report.

Sneed Elementary School recently received two soccer goals, 10 soccer balls and an equipment bag from the Westchase District Community Fund.

The WDCF matched a $1,500 grant from the City of Houston Department of Neighborhoods program to purchase the equipment, which is installed at the Sneed SPARK Park. The park, as well as use of the goals, is open to the community during non-school hours.

Kerr High School teacher Doris Curry was named Adviser of the Year by the Future Business Leaders of America.

Curry received her award at the 2019 FBLA State Leadership Conference.

Boone Elementary School teacher Kristen Deutzman was named a UNICEF USA teacher ambassador/coach.

Representatives from UNICEF USA, including the chief development officer and executive vice president, as well as the president of a foundation recently visited her classroom.

Deutzman was an early adopter of the UNICEF Kid Power Program, a program of UNICEF USA that gives kids the power to save lives by connecting their everyday activities to real-world impact.

Want to share a Points of Pride with the Alief ISD Public Relations Department?

Email your Points of Pride submission to Tracy Lau at tylau@aliefisd.net.

Upcoming District Events