Angiosperms- monocots & dicots

by Ashley Yun


Monocots and dicots are the 2 groups that flowering plants are divided into. Plants are divided into each group depending on their physical appearance.

Differences in these groups

While the monocots group has only one cotyledon in their embryo, the group dicots has two. The leaf veins in the m group are parallel shaped and the d groups leaf veins are branched. Secondary growth for the d group is often present but it is absent in the m group. 2 seed leaves are present in d group and only one is present in m. Basically, mono means "one" and di means "two," everything in the monocots group are singular and the ones in the dicots group, are multiple (two).
Monocots vs Dicots Explained


Monocots: Grains, ginger, bamboo, sugar, cone, etc

Dicots: legumes, mint, lettuce, tomato, oak, etc

Big image
Big image


These two groups are both composed of vascular tissue, ground tissue, and epidermal tissue. For both of them, the vascular tissues are also in vascular bundles. Another name for having these features is called trancheophytes. They also both have roots, stems, and leaves. As you can see, there are more differences in these two groups then there are similarites.