Atomic Time Line

By:Reilly Weakley

John Dalton 1803

Dalton’s atomic theory came in 4 different parts.

1) All matter is made up of atoms. Atoms are indivisible and they are indestructible.

2)All atoms of an element are identical in mass and properties.

3)Compounds are created by a combination of two or more different kinds of atoms.

4)A chemical reaction is a “rearrangement” of atoms.

J.J. Thomson 1897

Thomson proved that cathode rays were made up of previously unknown negative charged particles. In which he stated were much smaller than atoms.

Hantaro Nagaoka 1904

He put forth an idea that there was a substitute planetary model of an atom in which a positively charged center is surrounded by revolving electrons.

Ernest Rutherford 1911

He accredited that atoms have their charge concentrated in a small nucleus.

Niels Bohr 1913

whose discovery of the nucleus and development of an atomic model had earned him a Nobel Prize in chemistry in 1908.

Louis de Broglie 1924

is best known for his research on "quantum theory" and for his discovery of wave nature of electrons. He was awarded the 1929 Nobel Prize for Physics “for his discovery of the wave nature of electrons.”

Erwin Shrodinger 1926

Schrödinger combined the equations for the behavior of waves with the de Broglie equation to generate a mathematical model for the distribution of electrons in an atom.

James Chadwick 1932

was an English physicist who was awarded the 1935 Nobel Prize in Physics for his discovery of the neutron in 1932.