Types of Government

India, Israel, UK, and Sudan


Dictatorship - (A government) Controlled by 1 person, or a small group of people. In this form (of government) the power rests entirely on the person or group of people, and can be obtained by force or inheritance. The dictator(s) may also take away much of its peoples' freedom. A military junta is a government led by a committee of military leaders - which often becomes a dictatorship.


Democratic Federal Republic (US) - In contemporary usage, the term democracy refers to a government chosen by the people, whether it is direct or representative. The term republic has many different meanings, but today often refers to a representative democracy with an elected head of state, such as a president, serving for a limited term.

United Kindom

Constitutional Monarchy - System of government in which a monarch shares power with a constitutionally organized government. The monarch may be purely a cerimonial leader. The constitution allocates the rest of the government's power to the legislature and judiciary.


Parlamentary Democracy - Democratic form (of government) in which the party with the greatest representation in the parliment (legislature) forms the government, its leader becoming prime minister or chancellor. Executive functions are exercised by members of the parliament appointed by the prime minister to the cabinet. The parties in the minority serve in opposition to the majority and have the duty to challenge it regularly. The prime minister may be removed from power whenever he loses the confidence of a majority of the ruling party or of the parliament. Parliamentary democracy originated in Britain and was adopted in several of its former colonies.