Friday Feature

News and Notes for the Madison Staff (9/19/14)

Students Excluded from P.E.

Starting immediately, students excluded from PE will be sent to the office for the 20 minute period. Do not send students to PE if they have a parent note or doctor's order to be excluded from PE. Kathy and Stacy will do their best to make sure that students are immediately sent back to class once the PE period is over. Thank you for your diligence in this matter. If students have a note of exclusion, send the note to the office immediately.

More about Watch D.O.G.S.

Goals of the Watch D.O.G.S. volunteer program for dads:

1) To provide positive male role models for the students, demonstrating by their presence that education is important.

2) To provide extra sets of eyes and ears to enhance school security and reduce bullying.

There are now over 4,000 Watch D.O.G.S. schools in the U.S.A.

Thursday Night Tutoring

Please remember that we have Thursday night tutoring available for all of our students residing in Marian Park. Plans, needs, or suggestions for individual students can be emailed to Tom Masterson at Tom@TJMCO.com. Lesson reviews, teacher notes or past assignments needing additional tutoring assistance can also be given to Kathy and Stacy by Wednesday of that given week.

SEL Review

As we are all aware the District SEL team and our schools have done a lot of work in launching the Illinois Social/Emotional Learning Standards. Here is a short video review.http://animoto.com/play/QI0K8C2X0DtEXNGsE0e32Q

Important Dates

Mon, Sept 22: 1:00-3:00PM Dr. Schuler visits Madison

Wed, Sept 24: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Fri, Sept 26: 8AM-3PM Institute Day (Data Dive, SIP Planning, GLEW)

Wed, Oct 1: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Wed, Oct 8: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Mon, Oct 13: Columbus Day (No School)

Wed, Oct 15: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Thu, Oct 16: 7:00PM PTA Meeting

Sat, Oct 18: PTA Trivia Night (a staff team?)

Wed, Oct 22: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Mon, Oct 27: P/T Conferences (Book Fair Open)

Wed, Oct 29: P/T Conferences (Book Fair Open)

Fri, Oct 31: Halloween Parade and Parties

Wed, Nov 5: 8:30AM Caffeine and Curriculum

Tues, Nov 11: Veteran's Day

Thu, Nov 13: MCD

Thu, Nov 20: 12:00PM PTA Meeting

Wed, Dec 17: Winter Concert

Sat, Jan 24: Pancake Breakfast

Fri, Feb 6: Winter Carnival

Fri, May 22: EMD