Maryland & Federal Executive Branch

Kara Hall

Federal Executive Branch

  • Executive power rests with the president, currently held by Barrack Obama.
  • The executive branch carries out and enforces laws passed by congress.
  • The president functions as the chief executive, head of state, chief legislator, economic planner, party leader, chief diplomat, and commander in chief.
  • The major departments are the Department of State, Department of the Treasury, Department of Defense, Department of Justice, Department of the Interior, Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Labor, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Department of Transportation, Department of Energy, Department of Education, Department of Homeland Security, and Department of Veteran Affairs.

Maryland Executive branch

  • The executive power rests in the governor, Larry Hogan.
  • The executive branch carries out and enforces laws.
  • Has control over government budgeting, power of appointment, and commander in chief of the state's national guard when not federalized.
  • The major departments are the departments of Aging, Agriculture, Budget and Management, Commerce, Disabilities, Education, Environment, General Services, Health and Mental Hygiene, Housing and Community Development, Human resources, Information Technology, Juvenile services, Labor, Licensing, and regulation, Natural resources,Planning, Public Safety and correctional services, State Police, Transportation, and Veterans Affairs.