Branches of Government

Shelby Santor


The three branches of the United States government are Executive, Judicial, and Legislative. Each of the branches has a very important role in keeping the government running. The main reasons for having three branches are to equally distribute power, and prevent tyranny and dictatorship. The president is part of the Executive Branch along with about 5 million other workers who enforces the laws. The Judicial Branch contains the Supreme Court and 9 Justices who hear cases about issues with the constitution. The Senate and House of Representatives make up congress which makes up the Legislative Branch. The Legislative branch makes up the laws.

Why the Founding Fathers Created the Constitution

The founding fathers felt that it was important to equally distribute the power of the government and to make sure that it was not too powerful. They wanted to give power to everyone rather than focusing all of the power in one place. They created the Bill of Rights in order to protect the rights of every citizen and to limit the power of the federal government.