Longhorn Stampede

2018-19: Leading the Herd (13)

For Your Calendar (check back for updates)

Tuesday, November 13 - Progress Reports go home

Tuesday, November 13 - PTA Meeting, 12 pm

Wednesday, November 14 - 3rd Grade Field Trip

Wednesday, November 14 - 5th Grade Garden Day

Thursday, November 15 - Tribe Day - No lunch visitors; sign up to volunteer below!

Friday, November 16 - Kindergarten/PK PowWow Parade, 8:30 am

Wednesday, December 5 - 4th Grade Garden Day

Wednesday, December 5 - MISD UIL Competition at Stewart Creek Elem., 4:30 pm

Thursday, December 6 - MISD UIL Competition at Stewart Creek Elem., 4:30 pm

Tuesday, December 11 - PTA Meeting, 12 pm

Thursday, December 13 - 3rd Grade Program, 8:45 am

Monday, December 17 - School Wide Pajama Day

Tuesday, December 18 - Holiday Parties:

1st grade, 9:30

ABLE, 11:00

3rd grade, 11:30

2nd grade, 1:30

Wednesday, December 19 - Early Release, 1 pm

Wednesday, December 19 - Holiday Parties:

Kindergarten, 9:00

Life Skills, 11:00

4th Grade, 11:15

Thursday, December 20 - Early Release, 1 pm

Thursday, December 20 - Holiday Parties

PreK, 9:15

5th Grade, 9:30

Friday, December 21 - Winter Break Begins

Tuesday, January 8 - Students Return

Thursday, January 10 - Tribe Day

Tuesday, January 15 - PTA Meeting, 12 pm

Wednesday, January 16 - Garden Day for 3rd Grade

Monday, January 21 - Staff & Student Holiday

Thursday, January 24 - MISD 5th Grade Choir Concert

Wednesday, January 25 - Garden Day for 2nd Grade

Gift Card Request

Parents, we are asking that you consider picking up/sending a $10 gift card to our school. These will be used for staff and student prizes. You may drop it at the front desk or send in with your child. Thank you for helping us "raise the praise"!


Thank you so much:

Many LSE Families, including

Colbert Family

Conner Family

Jones Family

Tallas Family

Redell Family

The Leader in Me

This week our students discussed principles of Habit 1: Be Proactive


A proactive person can stop negative patterns by modeling positive behavior and passing on effective habits that strengthen and build others in positive ways. This is called being a transition person! Mrs. Krug discussed ways to act as an upstander (instead of bystander) with our boys and girls during last month's Tribe Days. Choices to react to sticky situations include:

1. Be a friend.

2. Interrupt/change the subject.

3. Speak out.

4. Report to an authority figure.


Being an upstander is another way to explain acting as a transition person. We love these skills and solutions for children and adults.


Highly Effective Practice: Become a transition person.

Lone Star Monthly Lunch Menus

Big picture
Big picture