ZCHS Counseling Department

Course Planning for the Class of 2021

Dear Ninth Grade Parents/Guardians,

It’s time for the ninth grade class to begin selecting classes for the 2018-2019 school year. Counselors met with ninth graders on Wednesday, November 29, 2017. Counselors and students worked together to create a draft of their course requests. Students are now ready to enter their course requests into PowerSchool. Below are directions on how to add course requests in PowerSchool.


We encourage students to discuss their requests at home with their parents. Review of course selections should include reviewing diploma requirements, course prerequisites and your child’s four year plan. The window for entering course selections in PowerSchool will end on Friday, December 8, 2017. Any changes after this date should be made directly through the student’s counselor. In order to optimize staffing projections, the request window for changes closes on Friday, February 9, 2018*.

Coffee with Counselors: Tuesday, December 5, 2017 from 7:45 AM until 9:00 AM; Wedge LGI

Enjoy donuts and coffee with School Counselors on Tuesday, December 5th from 7:45-9:00 AM in the Wedge LGI. Ask questions about:


* Four-Year Plans

* Scheduling Questions

* Diploma Types

* Scheduling Logistics

Register Here for the Dec. 5th Coffee with Counselors

Registration is recommended but not required.

*Note: Student course requests are the primary factors in staffing and building the master schedule so courses should be selected with care. It is our goal to make 2018-2019 student schedules available for review before the end of the school year. Students will be allowed to make course request changes at this time. These requests will be honored on an as available basis. Students should not assume that classes may be easily changed at the beginning of the school year. Requests for schedule changes made at the beginning of the school year will be considered for the following reasons only:

1. Changes in a student's special needs status, IEP or resource requirements.

2. Medical issues as documented by a medical provider.

3. Errors made by the school in developing the schedule.

4. Changes that allow students to qualify for the Academic Honors or Core 40 diploma.

5. Failure of a prerequisite course as identified in the ZCHS course descriptions.

6. Failure of a course required for entrance into post-secondary education.

7. Failure of a course required for post-secondary study as documented by the institution.

8. Failure of a course required for graduation.

9. Dropping a study hall for a credit bearing course.

10. Dropping an elective class for a required class.

11. Balance of class size as determined by the school.

12. History of failure in the same course taught by the same teacher.

13. Changes to planned graduation date.

14. Adding a class to continue the sequence of a year-long course.

15. Completion of summer school coursework.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions. Also, counselors are available to answer questions during our Coffee with Counselors on Tuesday, December 5th from 7:45 AM until 9:00 AM. Future Coffee with Counselors will be held in January if you are unable to attend our December 5th Coffee with Counselors.

A-Ch: Greg Kirkham gkirkham@zcs.k12.in.us

Ci-Go: Laura Weaver lweaver@zcs.k12.in.us

Gp-La: Cassie Petrocelli cpetrocelli@zcs.k12.in.us

Lb-Pa: Steve Polivka spolivka@zcs.k12.in.us

Pb-Sn: Kristen Stachura kstachura@zcs.k12.in.us

So-Z: Kaylee Miller kaymiller@zcs.k12.in.us

College & Career Transition Coordinator: Dana Nelson dnelson@zcs.k12.in.us

Registrar: Linda Barlow lbarlow@zcs.k12.in.us

Administrative Assistant: Cindy Bolander cbolander@zcs.k12.in.us