MoASSP Messenger June 10, 2019

Volume 32 Number 36

Since August 1987, MoASSP Messenger has been published by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals, a non-profit organization affiliated with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.
Big picture

MISSOURI PROUD...BETH HOUF, PRINCIPAL, FULTON MIDDLE SCHOOL

With the announcement of Beth Houf as one of three 2019 NASSP Digital Principals of the Year, she joins David Geurin, the Principal at Bolivar HS as Missouri's second national honoree. David received the Digital Principal of the Year in 2017. Missouri has been well represented.

QUOTE FOR THE PRINCIPAL'S JOURNEY

"The schools tackling the toughest challenges tell a consistent and powerful story by focusing on the future and prioritizing a rigorous and relevant curriculum." Dr. Bill Daggett, Founder, International Center for Leadership in Education. Dr. Daggett writes in his latest blog, "5 Things the Nation’s Most Rapidly Improving Schools Have in Common."


Dr. Daggett will open the 85th Annual MoASSP/MCCTA September 29 in Columbia.

QUOTE FOR THE PRINCIPAL'S JOURNEY

"Build a sense of loyalty and pride in your school through a deliberate effort in creating a brand for your school that all stakeholders can get behind." Dr. Adam D. Drummond

"THE INSTRUCTIONAL CHANGE AGENT...48 WAYS TO BE THE LEADER YOUR SCHOOL NEEDS" Way #47: Brand Your Message

Update From the Executive Director

New Principals Conference

We have 50 registered so far for the New Principals Conference scheduled for July 15-16 in Columbia. Please share this information with our colleagues just entering the world of school administration.


Congratulations to Fulton Middle School Principal, Beth Houf, 2019 NASSP Digital Principal of the Year


Dr. Bill Daggett Opens 85th Annual MoASSP/MCCTA Fall Conference

We are excited to announce that Dr. Bill Daggett will be the opening keynote at our upcoming Fall Conference. I have heard Dr. Daggett speak many times. He is a great choice to kick off our conference for school and career technical administrators. Dr. Daggett is one of the most sought after speakers in the country. "He is the creator of the Rigor/Relevance Framework. Dr. Daggett will show us how we can effectively prepare students for the future."


A New Book Release to Consider

Dr. Adam Drummond's new book, "The Instructional Change Agent," has endorsements from John Hattie to Bill Daggett. I was fortunate to read the manuscript several months ago. Adam's book captures the heart of a principal by providing a fresh look at time-tested systems that spotlight the core values of the principalship that will sure to increase stakeholder value. This wisdom-packed book of everyday, realistic, and purpose-filled ideas, is recommended for any principal’s bookshelf. Adam was the closing keynote at the MoASSP Spring Conference. My copy is in the mail.


Trade Secrets...Interviewing School Counselors

Several months ago, I was asked to write an article for the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) Magazine about what principals look for when interviewing school counselors. The article appeared in the May/June 2019 School Counselor magazine. The piece summarized our approach as we considered the best candidate for the position. I have also included the link below.


ACT Update

I have included information released from Tim Osborn, ACT District Manager for State Engagement. See link below.


GKCMPA Aspiring Principal Workshop Highlights

I attended a well-planned Aspiring Principal program last Thursday at Lee's Summit North HS. I have included a few pics and highlights below.


New Members and Renewals

It is time to join MoASSP for 2019-2020. I have included membership information below. Last week, we had 76 join for the upcoming year.


Time to Organize, Recharge, and Reflect

If you are looking for a system to help you and your team stay organized, you might want to check out Basecamp. I have included a link below and other helpful information as you prepare yourself for 2019-2020.


Whether you are aspiring, emerging, developing, or transformational, wherever you are on the “Principal’s Journey," it is a “matter of principal(ple).”


Clark Mershon

IN THIS ISSUE OF THE MESSENGER

  • Trade Secrets
  • ACT Update
  • GKCMPA Aspiring Principals Workshop
  • See who has joined MoASSP in the last week
  • Tools to help you get organized, recharge, and reflect

GET THE INSIDE SCOPE WHEN INTERVIEWING SCHOOL COUNSELORS...Revealing Trade Secrets

Several months ago, I was asked to write an article for the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) Magazine about what principals look for when interviewing school counselors. The article appeared in the May/June 2019 School Counselor magazine. The piece summarized our approach as we considered the best candidate for the position. Clark Mershon

GKCMPA HOSTS ASPIRING PRINCIPALS WORKSHOP

After rescheduling the Aspiring Principals Workshop on two different occasions this winter because of weather, third time is a charm. The event was held this past Thursday at Lee's Summit North HS.

OUR NEWEST MEMBERS & RENEWALS FOR 2019-2020.

HELP WELCOME MoASSP'S BRAND NEW MEMBERS

  1. Joe Shoemaker Oran HS jshoemaker@oran.k12.mo.us Principal SE

  2. Kimberly Copeland Hillsboro JHS copeland_kimberly@hsdr3.org Assistant Principal SE

  3. Denise Baldwin Maries Co. R-II HS dbaldwin@mariesr2.org Principal SC

  4. Travis Wait Bronaugh HS twait@bronaugh.k12.mo.us Principal SW

  5. Christopher Brandriff Wright City HS chris.brandriff@wrightcity.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal NE

  6. Greg Kemper Glendale HS gkemper@spsmail.org Assistant Principal SW

  7. Isaac Isaia Glendale HS ipisaia@spsmail.org Coord. Of Site Interv. SW

  8. Dawn Jenkins Salisbury J/SHS djenkins@salisbury.k12.mo.us Principal NE



RENEWALS


  1. Heath Allison Hillsboro JHS allison_heath@hsdr3.org Principal SE
  2. Vicky Alves Lexington MS Valves@lexington.k12.mo.us Principal C
  3. Lisa Anderson Central HS landerson320@spsmail.org Assistant Principal SW
  4. Marty Anderson Salem HS marty.anderson@salemr80.org Principal SC
  5. David Arledge Eureka HS arledgedavid@rsdmo.org Assistant Principal SL
  6. Jeanette Baker Adrian HS jeanette.baker@adrian.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal C
  7. Brad Begemann Richmond HS bbegemann@richmond.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal NW
  8. Gary Bonsall South Callaway MS gary.bonsall@sc.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  9. Brad Briscoe Odessa HS bbriscoe@odessar7.net Principal C
  10. Nicole Buschmann Hermann MS nbuschmann@hermann.k12.mo.us Principal SC
  11. George Calhoun Eureka HS calhoungregg@rsdmo.org Assistant Principal SL
  12. Paul Canaan Pleasant Hill HS pcanaan@pleasanthillschools.com Principal KC
  13. Gregg Cleveland Eureka HS gclevelandgregg@rsdmo.org Activities Director SL
  14. Dwayne Clingman Helias Catholic HS dclingman@heliascatholic.com Assistant Principal C
  15. Charles Crouther Eureka HS crouthercharles@rsdmo.org Principal SL
  16. Mark Estep Marionville HS mestep@marionville.us Principal SW
  17. Shaun Fanger St. Clair JHS sfanger@stcmo.org Assistant Principal SC
  18. Jennifer Ford Charleston HS jford@charleston.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SE
  19. Scott Gemes Otterville HS sgemes@ottervi.k12.mo.us Principal C
  20. Ann Marie Gilman Eureka HS gilmanannmarie@rsdmo.org Assistant Principal SL
  21. Candi Gray Linn Co. HS cgray@linnr1.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  22. Stephanie Green Boonville MS sgreen@boonville.k12.mo.us Principal C
  23. Stephanie Green Maysville HS sgreen@bpsk12.net Principal NW
  24. Josh Groves Glendale HS jgroves@spsmail.org Principal SW
  25. Nicole Hanson Laquey MS nhanson@laqueyhornets.us Principal SC
  26. Stephen Harris Valley Park HS sharris@vp.k12.mo.us Aspiring SL
  27. Steve Hendricks Scott City HS hendrickss@scschools.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SE
  28. Rexanne Hill Lee's Summit Schools rexanne.hill@lsr7.net Central Office KC
  29. Brian Hukel Woodland MS bhukel@woodland.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  30. Alan Hutchcraft Maysville HS hutchcrafta@maysville.k12.mo.us Principal NW
  31. Gary Jansen Crestview MS jansengary@rsdmo.org Principal SL
  32. Jackie Jenkins Lake Career & Tech Ctr. jjenkins@camdentonschools.org CTE Director SW
  33. Michelle Johnson North Platte J/SHS michelle.johnsonnppanthers.org Principal NW
  34. Joshua Johnson Battle HS josjohnson@cpsk12.org Assistant Principal NE
  35. Alexandra Krinski Crestview MS krinskialexandra@rsdmo.org Assistant Principal SL
  36. Shannon Lawson Winnetonka HS shannon.lawson@nkcschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  37. Abe Lewis Adrian HS abe.lewis@adrian.k12.mo.us Principal C
  38. Joey Little Hurley HS jlittle@hurley.k12.mo.us Principal SW
  39. Ryan Long North St. Francois Co. HS rlong@ncsd.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  40. David MacLean Odessa HS dmaclean@odessar7.net Assistant Principal KC
  41. Lance Massey Westran MS lmassey@westran.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  42. Vince Matlick West Platte HS matlickv@wpsd.net Principal NW
  43. Rachel McCarthy Battle HS rmccarthy@cpsk12.org Assistant Principal NW
  44. Jason Merkel Sullivan HS merkelj@sullivaneagles.org Assistant Principal SC
  45. Mitch Nanney Meadow Heights HS mnanney@meadowheights.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  46. John Parker Richmond HS jparker@richmond.k12.mo.us Principal NW
  47. Lisa Parker Dixon MS lparker@dixonr1.com Principal SC
  48. Mike Postlewait Stockton HS mpostlewait@stockton.k12.mo.us Principal SW
  49. Mitchell Pycior Glendale HS mpycior@spsmail.org Assistant Principal SW
  50. Ryan Ramey West Platte HS rameyr@wpsd.net Assistant Principal NW
  51. Justin Remington Richmond HS jremington@richmond.k12.mo.us Athletic Director NW
  52. Gwendolyn Roche Fr. Tolton Catholic HS groche@toltoncatholic.org Principal NE
  53. Jon Roop Herculaneum HS jroop@dunklin.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SE
  54. Matthew Ross Hickman HS mross@cpsk12.org Assistant Principal NE
  55. Kerry Sachetta Joplin School District kerrysachetta@joplinschools.org Central Office SW
  56. Jeanne Skahan Springfield Catholic jskahan@scspk.org Principal SW
  57. Drew Smith Grain Valley HS dsmith@gvr5.net Assistant Principal C
  58. Teresa Smith Van Buren HS tsmith@vanburen.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  59. Kelly Sollberger Crestview MS sollbergerkelly@rsdmo.org Assistant Principal SL
  60. Ryan Stanley Lead Innovation Studio stanleyr@parkhill.k12.mo.us Principal KC
  61. Jennifer Strauser Eureka HS strauserjennifer@rsdmo.org Associate Principal SL
  62. Daniel Thoman Eureka HS thomandan@rsdmo.org Assistant Principal SL
  63. Carrie Tripp Perryville MS ctripp@pcsd32.com Assistant Principal SE
  64. Curtis Walk Boonville MS curtis.walk@bpsk12.net Assistant Principal C
  65. Joshua Walz Crestview MS walzjoshua@rsdmo.org Assistant Principal SL
  66. Heath Waters Crocker HS hwaters@crockerschools.org Principal SC
  67. Milton Wick Perry County MS mwick@pcsd32.com Principal SE
  68. Tim Luecke Affton HS tluecke@afftonschools.net Assistant Principal SL

INFORMATION TO HELP YOU ORGANIZE, RECHARGE, AND REFLECT ON YOUR LEADERSHIP

Feeling burnt out at work or at home? You’re not alone – 95% of HR leaders blame burnout for low workplace retention. Ken Coleman shares tips for how to avoid it.

TAKE TIME TO SMELL THE ROSES (FLOWERS). TREAT YOURSELF AND YOUR FAMILY...DINE, SHOP, TRAVEL, SAVE.

85 MO School Administrators Headed to Boston July 18-20

It isn't too late to sign up for the National Principals Conference in Boston July 18-20. Click on this link for more information.

Upcoming Regional Meetings, Workshops, & New Principals Conference Information

Check out all of the upcoming regional, workshops, and spring conference information by going to the MoASSP website.
Big picture

MoASSP Board of Directors

  • NASSP Coordinator for Missouri: John Faulkenberry, Lee's Summit HS
  • MoASSP President: Ed Gettemeier, Hardin MS
  • MoASSP President-Elect: Marc Spunaugle, Lincoln HS
  • MoASSP Past President: Chris Hoehne, Ste. Genevieve HS
  • MoASSP Treasurer: Kathryn Greer, Francis Howell North HS
  • At-Large Non-Public: Valerie Todd, St. Mary's HS
  • At-Large Assistant Principal: Jennifer Strauser, Eureka HS
  • At-Large Middle Level: Jonathan Apostol, Monett MS
  • Kansas City (GKCMPA): Jeff Meisenheimer, Lee's Summit North HS
  • Northwest: Robert Bowers, Lathrop HS
  • Northeast: Scott Daly, Hallsville HS
  • Southeast: Dan Hecht, Kelly-Benton HS
  • Southwest: Sarah Odom, Cherokee MS
  • South Central: Jim Pritchett, Rolla HS
  • Central: Brandon Harding, Cole Camp HS
  • St. Louis (SASSP): Andy Croley, McCluer North HS
  • NASSP Board Member: Kevin Lowery, Lebanon HS

2018-2019 District Presidents

  1. Central Region: Jonathan Petersen, Smithton HS
  2. GKCMPA: Charlie Belt, Blue Springs South HS
  3. Northeast Region: Deborah Hill-Haag, Mexico MS
  4. Northwest Region: Beery Johnson, Benton HS
  5. SASSP: Gary Jansen, Crestview MS (Rockwood)
  6. South Central Region: Kelle McCallum, Washington HS
  7. Southeast Region: Lucas McKinnis, Bernie HS
  8. Southwest Region: Keith White, Buffalo HS
Big picture

Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals

The vision of MoASSP is to serve ALL middle level and high school administrators.


The mission of MoASSP is to improve secondary education through positive leadership and the enhancement of student performance.