By Alex and Ken


Australia is a Country. A country is an expanse of land, a nation with its own government. Australia is part of the continent known as Australasia. It has 6 states and 2 territories. The 6 states are NSW, ACT, VIC, TAS, SA, WA, NT and QLD. The 2 territories are Canberra and Brisbane.

Big image

Classification 2

Australia’s neighbouring countries include New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Indonesia. The waters that surround Australia are the Arafura and Timor Seas to the north and the Indian Ocean to the west. To the east of Australia are the Pacific Ocean and the Coral Sea. To the south of Australia are the Southern Ocean and the Great Australian Bight.


Australia is located on the planet Earth. It can be found in the Southern Hemisphere, just south of the Equator, in the continent Australasia.

Big image


Australia’s general population is estimated to be 24,151,300. Approximately there are 12,000,000 males and 12,000,000 females. The largest city in Australia is Sydney, New South Wales has 4,627,345 people.

Big image

Population 2

There are 200 cultures in Australia. The majority of the population are born in Australia. 22% of Indigenous backgrounds, 43% have at least one parent who has born overseas and 30% of the population were born in another country. The major countries of birth are England, New Zealand and China.

Population 3

Collectively, Australians speak over 200 languages. Other than English most common are Chinese, Italian, Greek and Arabic. Over 50 Indigenous languages spoken

Big image

Population 4

The major religion in Australia is Christianity, other major religions include: Buddhism, Islam and Judaism. 7,361 Australians practise Aboriginal traditional religions.


Australia is a large country varied climate. Australia has 4 seasons, down below are the seasons in order: Summer is December-February. Autumn is March-May. Winter is June-August. Spring is September-November. There are wet and dry seasons in the Northern Australia.

Big image

Climate 2

It rains occasionally in most places. It is Sunny most of the time. It only snows on the mountains. The highest temperature is 40 c. The lowest temperature is -5 c. The hottest place in Australia is the Northern Australia. Australia’s lowest temperatures are in Snowy Mountains.


Australia is the sixth largest country in the world. Australia is covering around 12 million square kilometres. Its ocean territory is the world's third largest, spanning three oceans. There are varieties of different environments including: rainforests, bushlands, deserts, reefs, coastal, beaches and mountains.


More than 80 per cent of our plants, mammals, reptiles and frogs are unique to Australia. Marsupials like koalas, kangaroos and many others can be found nowhere else in the world except Australia. Australia’s two egg laying mammals the platypus and the echidna are the only monotremes in world. Other unique animals include: emus, dingos, frilled neck lizard and blue tongue lizards.


91 per cent of Australia is covered by native vegetation. Many of Australia's desert landscapes are covered by native plants. Australia has a staggering 24,000 species of native plants. There are 954 species of Acacia including wattle and the Waratah. There are 700 species of Eucalyptus or gum trees. There are also: Grevillea e.g. Banksia and Melaleuca e.g. Paperbark.

Significiant Sites

Uluru, Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House, Kakadu National Park, The 12 Apostles, The Three Sisters, Alice Springs and Katherine Gorge.
Big image

Interesting Facts

Uluru: Uluru is a monolith; it is nearly about 600 million years. Uluru is 863 metres .It is the biggest rock in the Australia.

Interesting Facts 2

Great Barrier Reef: Great Barrier Reef is 2,300 kilometres long. Great Barrier is the biggest reef in the world!

Interesting Facts 3

Sydney Opera House: Sydney Opera House is 65 metres tall. Sydney Opera House is Bennelong’s house and inside has lots of history.