Wisconsin Government

By: Paul Koble


The Executive branch of Wisconsin is held by a governor. The Governor has the power to veto state legislation, call a state of emergency, and he authorizes the use of the national guard. The Governor stays in power for 4 years which at the end of a 4 year term a Governor has the chance to be elected Governor again.


The Judicial branch of Wisconsin court is made up of seven justices who are elected in state-wide, non-partisan elections. Each justice is elected for a ten-year term, but only one justice may be elected in any year. This avoids the sudden shifts in the court commonly seen in other state supreme courts, where the court composition can be radically shifted if two or three justices are targeted for an electoral challenge based on their views on issues like the death penalty. In the event of a vacancy on the court, the governor has the power to appoint an individual to the vacancy, but that justice must then stand for election in the first year in which no other justice's term expires.

The justice with the longest continuous service on the court serves as the chief justice, unless that justice declines, in which case the role passes to the next senior justice of the court. In such a case, the declining justice continues to serve as a justice on the court.


The Wisconsin Legislature is the state legislature of the U.S. State of Wisconsin. The Legislature is a bicameral body made up of the upper house Wisconsin Senate and the lower house Wisconsin Senate. With both houses combined, the legislature has 132 members representing an equal number of people. The Legislature is based at the State Capitol in Madison.



Obama visited Wisconsin to try and help Mary Burke

win the Gubernatorial election. The hope is that Obama will be able to rally support for the Democratic party. However, many democrats are wary to associate themselves with him due to his recent decline in popularity.