Partnering with Parents

To Meet the Needs of Our Students with Special Needs

September 3, 2019 Volume 2 Issue 1

Big picture

Important Dates

September

9- First Day for Students- Early Dismissal

16- Shaner Back to School Night

17- Grade 6 Back to School Night

18- Grades 7, 8 Back to School Night

24- Hess House A and PreK Back to School Night

25- Hess Houses B, C Back to School Night


October

10- Early Dismissal- Staff Professional Development

11- No School for Students- Staff Professional Development

14- No School- Columbus Day

24- Special Education Parent Advisory Group Meeting

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Back to School Nights

Please mark your calendars for our Back to School Nights this month. This is a critical time to meet the teachers of your children. Additionally, this is a great opportunity to meet some of the child study team members, counselors, and related service providers. We will have representatives from each of these groups at every Back to School Night. These child study team members, counselors, and related service providers will be available for the 30 minutes prior to the start of the Back to School Night program so that you have an opportunity to introduce yourself if you choose to do so. You can find them in the Child Study Team office in each school.

Special Education Parent Advisory Group

We have a Special Education Parent Advisory Group (SEPAG) in the district. Each district board of education shall ensure that a special education parent advisory group is in place in the district to provide input to the district on issues concerning students with disabilities (N.J.A.C. 6A:14-1.2(h).


Generally we meet 4 times per year, though we decide the schedule at our first meeting each school year. Our first meeting for the 2019-2020 school year is scheduled for Thursday, October 24, 2019 in the Davies IMC (Library). Please contact Marylynn Stecher- stecherm@hamiltonschools.org- if you would like to serve as a member of this group and you will be added to the email group to get reminders of meetings.

Administrative Team

Supervisor of Special Education and Child Study Teams

Marylynn Stecher stecherm@hamiltonschools.org


Supervisor of Instruction in Special Education

Dana Kozak kozakd@hamiltonschools.org


Supervisor of Special Projects

Jeff Wellington wellingtonj@hamiltonschools.org

Child Study Teams

District

Physical Therapist

Vanessa DeCesari decesariv@hamiltonschools.org


Occupational Therapist

Ashley Galbiati galbiatia@hamiltonschools.org


Child Study Team Administrative Secretary

Tracey Mangold 609-476-6314

mangoldt@hamiltonschools.org


Shaner School

School Psychologist

Kelly Crowder crowderk@hamiltonschools.org


Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

Jessica Crawford crawfordj@hamiltonschools.org


Speech Therapist

Kelli Pinnix pinnixk@hamiltonschools.org


Child Study Team Secretary

Debbie Fiamingo 609-476-6111

fiamingod@hamiltonschools.org


Hess School

School Psychologists

Danielle Pulli pullid@hamiltonschools.org

Samantha Wilson wilsons@hamiltonschools.org


Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

Kelsey Rosenberg rosenbergk@hamiltonschools.org


School Social Workers

Catherine Anema anemac@hamiltonschools.org

Ann Bucknam bucknama@hamiltonschools.org


Speech Therapists

Diana Evans evansd@hamiltonschools.org

Karen Fink finkk@hamiltonschools.org

Anne Nelson nelsona@hamiltonschools.org

Caitlin Ponticello ponticelloc@hamiltonschools.org


Occupational Therapist

Jessica Goldstein goldsteinj@hamiltonschools.org


Child Study Team Secretary

Debbie Fiamingo 609-476-6111

fiamingod@hamiltonschools.org


Davies School

School Psychologists

Andrew Disque disquea@hamiltonschools.org

Gabriella Spinella spinellag@hamiltonschools.org


Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

Toni Riccelli riccellit@hamiltonschools.org


School Social Worker

Revaé Burton burtonr@hamiltonschools.org


Speech Therapist

Lindsay Combs combsl@hamiltonschools.org


Child Study Team Secretary

Jayne Carmen 609-476-6246

carmenj@hamiltonschools.org

Additional Counselors

In addition to the school psychologists and social workers on the Child Study Teams, we have school counselors (formerly known as guidance counselors) and additional social workers


Shaner

School Counselor

Dotsi Schoenstein- schoensteind@hamiltonschools.org


School Social Workers

Sara Leonelli- leonellis@hamiltonschools.org

Dymir Tatem- tatemd@hamiltonschools.org


Hess

School Counselors

Laura Hackney- hackneyl@hamiltonschools.org

Dan Bryz-Gornia- gorniab@hamiltonschools.org

Megan Sherman- shermanm@hamiltonschools.org


Davies

School Counselors

Nermin Mansour- mansourn@hamiltonschools.org

Wendy McKensie- mckensiew@hamiltonschools.org

Child Abuse Hotline

In July, Governor Phil Murphy signed a law that requires all schools to publicly post the Department of Children and Families’ Child Abuse Hotline number – also called the State Central Registry (SCR) – so that students as well as teachers and administrators are made aware that it exists and can easily call, if needed. New Jersey is a mandatory reporter state, which means that anyone who witnesses or even suspects child abuse or neglect must call the SCR, which operates 24/7/365.

Big picture

Child Abuse Prevention

Dear Families,

Your child's safety is important in and out of school. That's why I'm sharing this resource from Committee for Children, the organization that makes the Second Step social-emotional learning program.

Research shows that talking to your kids about sexual abuse, touching, and private body parts can help keep them safe. This is a scary subject, but talking about it shouldn't be. HotChocolateTalk.org is a free, research-based resource that provides the facts, tips, and talking points that can help you start this critical safety conversation.

Sincerely,

Marylynn Stecher

Big picture

Learning Ally

With over 80,000 titles, Learning Ally is the largest library of human-read audiobooks. These books include literature, popular fiction and curriculum-aligned titles. Learning Ally allows all students to have access to grade-level content. Highlighted text provides a multi-sensory reading experience that enables readers to easily absorb content.


Our district has a subscription to Learning Ally for students who require access to audiobooks in order to learn and read more effectively. This is an accommodation we have for students with a disability that affects reading and comprehension skills. Many teachers are using audiobooks with their students. Our subscription to Learning Ally allows students to not only access their audiobooks at school, but at home as well. Hopefully many of you are already using Learning Ally with your children at home. If you would like to know more about using Learning Ally at home, please contact your child's teacher.

Project Child Find

Parents of Hamilton Township who are concerned that their school age child (3 years to 21 years) may have special needs can receive assistance from the local school district's Child Study Team. In addition, the Hamilton Township Schools are organizing a Child Find campaign to locate and provide services for children ages three to five who may have physical, cognitive, language or emotional difficulties. Information also may be obtained on how and where to receive services for children with special needs who are younger than three. Professional guidance, assessment and an educational program are all available free for eligible children. For more information contact the Hamilton Township School District Child Study Team office at 476-6111.

The Project Child Find Fact Sheet

NJDOE Project Child Find Information

Register Ready – New Jersey’s Special Needs Registry for Disasters

Register Ready – New Jersey’s Special Needs Registry for Disasters allows New Jersey residents with disabilities or access and functional needs and their families, friends, caregivers and associates an opportunity to provide information to emergency response agencies so emergency responders can better plan to serve them in a disaster or other emergency."

For more information, click on this link.

Resources

Previous Newsletters