UNDERAGE DRINKING AND D.U.I

Facts and Information for Underage drinking and DUI

Laws


You can not legally drink or purchase alcoholic beverages in Pennsylvania until you are 21 years age. if you are caught driving, buying, possessing, or transporting beer, wine, or liquor, you can arrested.

Consequences

If convicted of underage drinking , you can be fine up to $300, jailed up to 90 days, or both. In addition, you will have a criminal record and lose your driver's license for 90 days. if you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol (D.U.I.), it is a misdemeanor of the second degree, with maximum penalty of up to $5000 and up to 2 years in jail. If you are tried and convicted, you must pay a minimum of $300 and spend at least 48 hours in jail and pay other legal fees. In addition, you will lose your license for at least 3 months, possibly up to a year. under Pennsylvania's zero tolerance law, persons under 21 can be arrested and charged with DUI even if their blood alcohol is .020.