Branches of Government

Brooklyn Newton


There are three branches of government which are the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Branches. The Executive Branch is ran by the President of the U.S and the President's job is to enforce the laws that are formed by the Legislative Branch. The legislative Branch makes laws that are formed by Congress. The Legislative Branch is divided into two parts, the Senate and House of Representatives. The Judicial Branch is made up of the Supreme Court and 9 Justices. Their job is to interpret laws that have to do with the Constitution.


The found fathers felt that it was important because people wanted the government to work and this constitution would fix that. The founding fathers did not want one person controlling everything. “I agree to this Constitution with all its faults, they are such, because I think a central government is necessary for us… I doubt too whether any other Convention we can obtain may be able to make a better Constitution.” Benjamin Franklin.

Functions of the Branches.

The Legislative Branch is headed by Congress and it is split into two parts which are the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Legislative Branch makes laws, declares war, and agrees or disagrees to presidential appointments. The Executive Branch includes the president, the vice president and the Cabinet. This Branch makes sure that no laws are broken. The Judicial Branch is made up by the Supreme Court and 9 Justices. Their job is to translate the laws of the Constitution and figure out if a law is constitutional.

The first three articles

The first article discusses the Legislative Branch.

The second article discusses the Executive Branch.

The third article three discusses the Judicial Branch.

Click here for link.

Current event showing one government branch.

The U.S. Attorney General made an announcement for a Justice Department plan. This plan was made to help end racial profiling.

Click here for the link.