Branches of Government

Grace Manning


The United States Government is broken into three branches called Legislative, Executive and Judicial. The Legislative Branch is divided into two sections, the House of Representatives and the Senate. This Branch discusses and passes laws. The Executive Branch is the where the President and his advisors enforce laws but also is in control of armed services. The Judicial Branch has the U.S. Supreme Court, these high level courts have judges who interpret laws according to the Constitution. These three branches are used to divide up the power. They ensure that people's rights are protected and that the government is as effective as it possibly can be. Each branch has different powers and jobs, but they all communicate with each other to make sure the government is coherent.


The Constitution was formed by the founding fathers to create a more perfect union between all of the states. The founding fathers also felt that it was important to have three different branches because it would help prevent too much power going to the central government. If the central government gained too much power, it could turn into a dictatorship. They wanted to have a government that would protect the rights of the people, split up the power and continue to protect the future of America.

The Functions of Each Branch

The three Branches of Government

Here is more information on the three branches!

Click here on the link.

The branches in the news

Here is a video of our Judicial Branch in action!

Click the link to watch.