Dutch Revolt

1568 to 1648

By Tyler Forrest and Drew Kavas


The Dutch Revolt, also known as the Eighty Years' War, was fought between Spain and the Netherlands. Due to clashing religions and taxation, the Dutch began rebelling against the Spanish colonies in the Netherlands. The largely protestant Dutch colonies felt oppressed by the Catholic Philip II, who implemented heresy laws condemning anybody who was not catholic.


Root Cause: Philip II came into power under Spain, and was viewed as a tyrant by the Dutch.

Direct Cause: Taxation and religious intolerance led to the first rebellion, setting off a chain of rebellions that lasted for 80 years.


Philip ll becomes king of Spain 1556

Protestant religions arrived in the Netherlands such as Calvinism-late 1550’s

Philip ll levies nex tax on the Netherlands

Peace of Cateau-Cambrésis-1559(end of France- Spain war)

Margaret of Parma sent troops to fight the rebels known as ¨beggar¨ armies. 1556

Duke of Alba put a ten percent sales takes on the Netherlands 1569

Alba has recalled to Spain 1573

January 1579 Union of Utrecht has signed

The armada 1588

1606 the twelve years truce

Spain tried to attack again

January 30 1648 Treaty of Munster was signed


The Dutch Revolt ended with the Treaty of Munster in 1648. The treaty recognized the Dutch Republic as an independent state, giving the Netherlands the victory in the conflict against Spain.

Main Significance

The Dutch Revolt succeeded in giving the Dutch religious freedom and relief from Spain rule. There are many parallels between the Dutch Revolt and the American Revolution, and they both signify the attainment of freedom and independence from a larger power. If the Dutch rebellions never occurred, than the Netherlands would not have received their independence, and they would still be under Spanish rule today. (Or have gained independence at a later time.)

Treaty of Munster


The path to peace leading to the Treaty of Munster was thought up when rebellion attacks against spanish rule erupted in Portugal. The Spanish were realizing that they couldn’t take on the many countries including England, Netherlands , and Portugal in war, so they decided to come to peace with the dutch. On January 30, 1648 the peace treaty of Munster was signed.