December 2, 2021

Wildcat Adventures

Celebrating Our Habit Heroes

Big picture

Stettin Toys for Tots: Please Donate NEW and UNWRAPPED Toys (December 2-10)

Big picture

In Place of Traditional Snow Days

Earlier this week you received a message from the WSD with regard to our plans for Inclement Weather Days. The message can be read by clicking on the button following this text section.


Here are a few additional specifics as related to Stettin:

*We will do our best to be proactive should inclement weather be predicted and send home all necessary materials including student iPads and classroom materials. This is also why we will be sending student iPads home on a daily basis for all students.


*All students should plan to attend a classroom google meet at 9:00 am and 1:00 pm. Each google meet will last approximately 15 minutes. Google meet codes for each classroom will be shared through your class Seesaw.


*During the live google meet, classroom teachers will check in with students, explain the learning activities that students will be completing for the day and answer any questions that there may be.


*Each grade level will be assigned one encore activity through Seesaw. The grade level the child is in will determine what encore activity will be assigned. This activity will be something that students can complete on their own and should take about 15-20 minutes to complete.


*Depending on the child’s grade level additional learning activities will be assigned by the classroom teacher that a child should complete asynchronously/independently during the day. For K-2 this will be approximately an additional 15 minutes and for grades 3-5 this will be about 75 additional minutes.


*We understand that on inclement weather days, internet connections may not always be working. Please do your best to connect to the google meet, when possible. Also, if you are in need of a hot spot, you may check one out through our library. Please contact Ms. Gaskey, our librarian for more information.

Virtual Learning Days in Place of Traditional Snowdays

Click here to read about the Virtual Learning Plans for Inclement Weather Days.

Big picture

Let's Have Some Fun Together!

Big picture

Vision Screening at Stettin

Our WSD Health Aides have been trained and will be conducting Vision Screening for all of our students this year. Our Stettin Health Aide, Mrs. Dallman, will begin the screening process with one class at a time.


If you wish to exclude your child from this free screening, please contact Mrs. Dallman in the Health Room at 715-261-0209.

Big picture
Big picture

COVID-19 Testing - an Option for WSD Families

The Wausau School District is now offering free PCR COVID-19 testing to all students, staff, and even their immediate family members.


Testing is now available, on a limited basis in a mobile unit. Below you will find a schedule that shows where the unit will be and when. Then, starting closer to December, ‘Wellness Cottages’ will open up on each school campus in the District, where that testing will be done. The cottages are currently being built.


Everyone who would like to receive that free test must fill out a consent form. The consent form for students is available below, it’s also available on our website.


It’s imperative that you know the District will not test students without parental consent. Instructions for registering your child to receive testing are below. Once parents and guardians fill out the consent form, they must return it to their child(ren)’s school.


All staff and immediate family members of students and staff who would like to receive that free testing, will give consent either at the mobile unit or at the Wellness Cottages when they open up.


You should also know this is all being done at absolutely no cost to the Wausau School District. In fact, the Department of Health Services is paying for it all -- including the testing of students, staff, and their immediate family members, along with paying for the staff who will administer the tests, the mobile unit, and the construction of the Wellness Cottages.

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Important Dates

December 13: Grade 4 to the School Forest

December 23-January 2: No School (Winter Break)

January 10: Grade 2 to Grand Theater

January 14: Early Dismissal Elementary Schools (11:30am)

January 17: No School (Professional Learning Day for Teachers)

January 21: Grade 4 to Grand Theater

Visitors to Stettin

When you visit us at Stettin between 8:00-4:00, we ask that you use the Main Entry. In efforts to keep our students safe, all visitors are greeted at the front door through out intercom system. Mrs. Steffen, Mrs. Halvorsen, or Mrs. Dallman will welcome you inside.


You will be asked to stop at the office to register as a visitor and receive your visitor badge.


The first time you visit, you will be asked for a driver's license as part of our security procedures. Subsequent visits will not need a driver's license.


Thank you for your help in keeping our students safe.

Big picture
Click here for our Stettin Family Handbook

A comprehensive guide to life at Stettin.

What's for breakfast and lunch each day?

Our breakfast and lunch menus can be found on the following link https://wausau.nutrislice.com/menu/menus-eula. All nutrition information regarding the menus can be found on this link as well.

Lunch and Playground Times


Kindergarten 11:20-12:00

Grade 1 11:30-12:10

Grade 2 11:35-12:15

Grade 3 12:00-12:40

Grade 4 12:05-12:45

Grade 5 12:15-12:55

Do you have questions about the bus?

We are happy to help you when we can at school.

Many times, however, First Student Bus Company is your best first contact.



FIRST STUDENT
Phone: 715-842-2268
FAX: 715-845-3155

Our 2021-2022 Stettin Staff

Kindergarten

Kelly Meeks kmeeks@wausauschools.org

Taylor Prososki tprososki@wausauschools.org


Grade 1

Cassie Zipp czipp@wausauschools.org

Kristie Butler kbutler@wausauschools.org

Haley Ramcheck hramcheck@wausauschools.org


Grade 2

Beth Gruber bgruber@wausauschools.org

Ashley Langbecker alangbec@wausauschools.org


Grade 3

Timille Johnson tjohnson@wausauschools.org

Kristin Paulson kpaulson@wausauschools.org


Grade 4

Kelly Brandt kbrandt@wausauschools.org

Thomas Dziadosz tdziados@wausauschools.org


Grade 5

Mark Sepnafski msepnafs@wausauschools.org

Taylor Schlinkmann tschlinkmann@wausauschools.org


Special Education

Amanda Jacobson ajacobso@wausauschools.org

Jill Kleman jkleman@wausauschools.org

Kristen Rexford krexford@wausauschools.org


Speech and Language

Meghan Oselka moselka@wausauschools.org


EL

Kara Lee kalee@wausauschools.org


Encore

Art

Shanna Henriksen shenriksen@wausauschools.org

Science

Chelsey Gilbert cgilbert@wausauschools.org

Music

Sam Ward sward@wausauschools.org

Physical Education

Vickie Christianson vchristianson@wausauschools.org

Library Media Specialist

Julie Gaskey jgaskey@wausauschools.org


Pupil Services

School Counselor

Nicole Melander nmelande@wausauschools.org

School Social Worker

Jennifer Graf jgraf@wausauschools.org

School Psychologist

Hallie Beal hbeal@wausauschools.org


Health Aide

Krista Dallman kdallman@wausauschools.org


Nutrition Services

Tammy Lease tlease@wausauschools.org

Erin Niewolny


Custodians

Dale Sann dsann@wausauschools.org

Kathy Maurisak, Angela Cook


Administrative Assistant

Mary Steffen msteffen@wausauschools.org


Principal

Kelly Halvorsen khalvors@wausauschools.org


Paraprofessionals

Jenny Schneider, Michael Czech, Nicole Williams, Xang Lee, Matt Pijan, Joann Klement, Dawn Deuitch, Katie Matyasz, Shanti Hawley

WSD and Stettin Web Pages

We have recently updated our website and are currently in the process of rebuilding and improving our district and school site. Thank you for your patience as we work to be build a user-friendly and helpful site.
The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).
WSD E-Flyers

Click here to learn about outside of school activities being offered by the community.

Wausau School District iPad Agreement

Click here if you have not filled out the iPad agreement.