Harry Potter

The Ten Steps of a Hero's Journey

Stage 1: Departure

1. The Call to Adventure

At the beginning of the Harry Potter series, Harry receives a letter telling him that he is a wizard and is invited to attend to Hogwarts.

2. Super Natural Aid

When Harry Potter arrives at Hogwarts, Dumbledore teaches, coaches, and leads Harry to become the most powerful wizard that he has to be.

3. The Beginning of the Adventure

At the beginning, Harry is supposed to go platform 9 3/4 at the train station, but Harry could not find it. Then Harry meets Ron [his soon to be best friend] and Ron and his brothers and Harry go through the brick wall and they are all at platform 9 3/4, and they soon aboard the train.

Stage 2: Initiation

4. The Road of Trials

  • Harry enters into the unknown world and he has to get used to his fame.
  • He has to master his spells.
  • He has to defeat Voldemort.

5. Temptation

Harry is tempted [almost in a good way] to break the rules so that he can defeat evil.
Harry throws his invisibility cloak over him, so that he can hide from the adults while he looks for secrets in Hogwarts.

6. The Ultimate Boon

Harry finally defeats Voldemort.

Stage 3: Return

7. Refusal of the Return

Harry does not want to go back to the known world, and stay with the Dursleys.

8. The Magic Flight

Harry now has to deal with Dursleys. Harry hates them because they are rude to him and he is like their maid.

9. Rescue from Without

Harry feels more powerful that he is a wizard and that he has his wand with him in the known world.

10. Master of Two Worlds

Harry is of course a master the unknown world, but he is also a master of the known world because the Dursleys are sort of afraid of him because he is a wizard