PCSD Student Support Services

A weekly dose of encouragement for students and families

Week of June 1, 2020

  • Tips for Teens During the Self-Quarantine
  • What are Social Skills and Why are they Important?
  • Ways to Avoid Cabin Fever
  • Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health Basics Course
Big picture

Tips for Students During the Coronavirus Self-Quarantine:

  • Be kind to yourself. You are doing the best you can, given the circumstances.
  • Keep your sense of humor. Enjoy those random spurts of joy and uncontrollable laughter.
  • Nourish your body, mind, and soul. Exercise, eat mindfully, and stretch. Sleep well, hydrate, and nourish yourself. Listen to music, do art, take a walk in nature. Watch a YouTube video on how to do something you've always wanted to learn.
  • Connect with others, and with yourself. Breathe in, breath out. You've got this.


https://lesley.edu/article/five-tips-for-students-during-the-coronavirus-self-quarantine

What are Social Skills and Why are they Important?

Here is a list of some of the most important social skills that your child will need to be able to thrive in school and life:

  • Be responsible for their behavior
  • Follow rules
  • Get along with others
  • Accept differences in others
  • Have patience
  • Stay calm when interacting with others
  • Listen to others
  • Take turns
  • Do nice things for others
  • Ask for help


Check out the article below for more information!

Avoid Cabin Fever With These 125 Ideas to Keep Kids Entertained


  • Set up a treasure hunt
  • Watch the Beluga Whales at the Georgia Aquarium
  • E-visit the Louvre, (a digital tour of the museum in Paris)
  • Bake together
  • Watch the Cincinnati Zoo livestream through their Facebook page
  • Take a digital fieldtrip to Yellowstone National Park
  • Check out Mars
  • Film/make TikToks



Check out the article below for all 125 tips!

Big picture
Big picture

Reach Out Anytime!

PHS:

Alan Feazelle - afeazelle@plattscsd.org

Amy Tisdale - atisdale@plattscsd.org

Rory LaPage - rlapage@plattscsd.org

Sunshine Quinn - squinn@plattscsd.org

James DeBella - jdebella@plattscsd.org


SMS:

Christina Santella - csantella@plattscsd.org

Grace Prue - gprue@plattscsd.org

Janet Hankins - jhankins@plattscsd.org

Kelly Bilow - kbilow@plattscsd.org


Momot:

Kelly Cooper - kcooper@plattscsd.org

Mindy Fay - mfay@plattscsd.org

Savannah Therrien - sdouglas@plattscsd.org

Tracie McCarthy - tmccarthy@plattscsd.org


Oak:

Garret McLean - gmclean@plattscsd.org

Kristy Clark - kclark@plattscsd.org


Bailey:

Tracey Giroux - tgiroux@plattscsd.org

Sheldon Cullen - scullen@plattscsd.org