MRHS Media Message

Media Center Monthly Newsletter (Vol. 1 Issue 1)

Big picture

Meet Your New Media Specialist: Mrs. Brinsfield

Mrs. Brinsfield is so excited be here at Marvin Ridge High School! Mrs. Brinsfield has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Early Childhood/Elementary Education, a Master's Degree in Literacy Education (PreK-12), and is only a couple of courses away from a Master's Degree in School Library Media (PreK-12). She has 12 years of experience in education, teaching grades PreK through 12. As a part of those 12 years of experience, four of them were as an Elementary School Media Specialist in Maryland.

Mrs. Brinsfield is passionate about spreading a love of reading, as well as ensuring that students are equipped with valuable 21st century skills such as information literacy and digital citizenship. In her free time, she enjoys spending time outdoors with her family, cooking, and (of course) reading.

Special Announcements

October is Cyber Security Month and Computer Learning Month (With Digital Citizenship Week Oct. 17-21)

Digital Citizenship skills are crucial in today's society, because the digital world is now very much a part of the real world. In this monthly newsletter, I will be sharing tech tips that will include topics such as: technology assistance tips, digital citizenship activities, media literacy information, and educational apps/websites to try.

In addition to this month's tech tip below, check out some of these awesome Digital Citizenship Resources from Common Sense Media!

Digital Citizenship Letter to Parents

Family Conversations


Image by katemangostar on Freepik

Pumpkin Decorating Contest: October 10-25

Participate by creating a book-themed pumpkin. Paint a pumpkin (or pumpkins) in a way that represents an iconic or favorite book! Pumpkins will be judged and voted for on the 25th. First, second, and third place winners will receive prizes.

Rules:

  • Please do not carve real pumpkins (they decay too quickly), use paint and craft materials only. You may use artificial pumpkins if you wish to bring something carved.
  • All pumpkins must be submitted by the end of the school day on October 24, 2022.
  • Keep your designs school appropriate.

Junior Student Council's Booktober Event: October 10-28

Donate books to the book drive! Each grade level will have a bin for collections. The grade with the most books will be awarded points toward the student council class cup.


Image by Freepik

Big picture

Fiction Book Pick

From the Publisher


A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.


Salama Kassab was a pharmacy student when the cries for freedom broke out in Syria. She still had her parents and her big brother; she still had her home. She had a normal teenager's life. Now Salama volunteers at a hospital in Homs, helping the wounded who flood through the doors daily. Secretly, though, she is desperate to find a way out of her beloved country before her sister-in-law, Layla, gives birth. So desperate, that she has manifested a physical embodiment of her fear in the form of her imagined companion, Khawf, who haunts her every move in an effort to keep her safe. But even with Khawf pressing her to leave, Salama is torn between her loyalty to her country and her conviction to survive. Salama must contend with bullets and bombs, military assaults, and her shifting sense of morality before she might finally breathe free. And when she crosses paths with the boy she was supposed to meet one fateful day, she starts to doubt her resolve in leaving home at all.


Soon, Salama must learn to see the events around her for what they truly are--not a war, but a revolution--and decide how she, too, will cry for Syria's freedom.

Non-Fiction Book Pick

This pick will support digital citizenship and media literacy conversations (see more in the tech tip below).



From the Publisher


While popularized by President Donald Trump, the term "fake news" actually originated toward the end of the 19th century, in an era of rampant yellow journalism. Since then, it has come to encompass a broad universe of news stories and marketing strategies ranging from outright lies, propaganda, and conspiracy theories to hoaxes, opinion pieces, and satire--all facilitated and manipulated by social media platforms. This title explores journalistic and fact-checking standards, Constitutional protections, and real-world case studies, helping readers identify the mechanics, perpetrators, motives, and psychology of fake news. A final chapter explores methods for assessing and avoiding the spread of fake news.

Looking for What to Read Next?

Teen's Top Ten

Take a look at YALSA's teen's top ten picks!

What Should I Read Next?

Use this website to search for recommendations!

Big picture

Digital Citizenship

Today, the digital world is a huge part of the real world. With this in mind, it is more important than ever to talk about how to be good digital citizens. Use the link below to access a slideshow with some great tips and suggestions for getting the conversation started!
Big picture

Make Something!

Did you know that our media center's makerspace is open every Friday during SMART Lunch? A makerspace is a place for students to practice STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics) concepts and skills. Students are encouraged to create, explore, design, experiment, build, think-critically, and problem-solve.


Students can practice these skills at home too! Each month, we will share a project for students to try at home. Check this one out:

Maker Challenge: Design the Ultimate Tiny House

Thank you for reading, and for supporting our school Media Center!