by jacob


Australias formal name is the Commonwealth of Australia.The form of Government used in Australia is a constitutional monarchy (A Government such as a queen or king acts as head of states.) there are 7 states. NSW, VIC, QLD, NT, WA, SA, TAS AND ACT.
Big image

how federation began

the premier (head of the cabinet of NSW, Henry Parkes convinced other premiers to discuss federation and in 1890 the Australasian federation convention,includingepresntatives of New Zealand was heldin the ausralasian conventon was held in Sydney in 1891. Each colony sent seven representatives. work began on an australian constitutions. a draft was set up by a committee: Edmund Barton(NSW), andrew inglis Clark(TAS), Samuel Griffith(QLD), and Charles Kingston(SA).They looked at the constitution of great britain,The united states, canada andswitzerland.
Big image

coat of arms

The australian coat of arms is but is incorrectly referred as 'Commonwealth Crest'.Strictly speaking of the crest is the device above the shield and helmet of the coat of arms. The australian crest is a seven-pointed gold star on a blue and gold wreath. Six of the points of the crest represent each state of the Commonwealth:the seventh point represents australias territories.
Big image

our prime minister now

On 18 September 2013 Tony Abbott became australias 28 prime minister. Before he became prime minister he served as leader of the Opposition since 1 December 2009. He took his first portfolio as parliamentary for the minister of Education, training and health affairs from 1996 to 1998 in john Howard's coalition.
Big image


the population of australia is 23,591,232. in new south wales is 7.41 million. in australian capital territory 357,220. in victoria 110,500. in western australia 82,000. in Queens land 4,66 million. in South australia 1.675 million. in Tasmania 513,400