the nine sisters( the muses)

  1. Calliope, traditionally the most important (beautiful-voiced and representing epic poetry and also rhetoric),

  2. Clio (glorifying and representing history),

  3. Erato (lovely and representing singing),

  4. Euterpe (well-delighting and representing lyric poetry),

  5. Melpomene (singing and representing tragedy),

  6. Polymnia (many hymning and representing hymns to the gods and heroes),

  7. Terpsichore or Stesichore (delighting in dance),

  8. Thalia (blooming and representing comedy),

  9. Urania (heavenly and representing astronomy).


Calliope, Clio, Erato, Euterpe, Melpome, Polymnia, Terpsichore, Thalia, and Urania the younges are the nine muses. the muses are the gods of music, arts, science, and dance. they are known for there beauty and grace. they helped the gods and mankind to forget their troubles and inspired musicians and writers to reach ever greater artistic heights. the muses believed to inspire all artists, especially poets, and musicians.they are the daughters of Zeus and the titan Mnemosyne who was the goddess of memory. The Muses were venerated throughout Greece. They were led by the Apollo. The nine sisters each had there own unique talent and gift. The Muses sat near the throne of Zeus, king of the gods, and sang of his greatness and of the origin of the world and its inhabitants and the glorious deeds of the great heroes.

work cited

Cartwright, Mark. "Ancient History Encyclopidia." Muses. N.p., 14 Dec. 2014. Web. 9 Nov. 2014.

Lindemans, Micha F. "Muses." Muses. N.p., 30 July 2006. Web. 09 Nov. 2014.

Stapleton, Michael. "Muses." The Illustrated Dictionary of Greek and Roman Mythology. New York: P. Bedrick, 1986. 101-02. Print.

Richard, Barbieri. "Muses." Greek and Roman Mythology. N.p.: EBSCO Industries, n.d. N. pag. EBSCO Industries. Web. 9 Nov. 2014.