Townshend Act


The Townshend Act

  • Series of acts passed, beginning in 1767.
  • Five laws often mentioned: the Revenue Act of 1767, the Indemnity Act, the Commissioners of Custom Act, the Vice Admiralty Act, and the New York Restraining Act.
  • It raised the revenue in the colonies, so they would stay loyal to Great Britain.


  • Most influential colonial response was by John Dickinson; He wrote twelve essays.
  • The colonies refused to pay the increased revenue which eventually led to the Boston Massacre of 1770.