Dermatology Grand Rounds

Dermatology Lecture Hall

Grand Rounds

Wednesday, Dec. 16th, 8am-12pm

676 North Saint Clair Street, Suite 1600 (16th Floor)

The June K. Robinson, MD Lectureship

Dr. June Robinson, Professor of Clinical Dermatology at Northwestern University Medical School, and a research member of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center. Her body of research explores skin cancer prevention and early detection of melanoma by skin self-examination, as well as skin cancer treatment.

She was the first woman President of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (1994-95), is the past-secretary treasurer of the American Academy of Dermatology and is a past president of the Illinois division of the American Cancer Society.

In 2002, Dr. Robinson’s dedication and contributions to the field of dermatology were recognized by the Women’s Dermatologic Society with The Wilma Bergfeld, MD Visionary and Leadership Award. In 2004, her contributions to skin cancer prevention were recognized by the American Cancer Society with the St. George Medal. Dr. Robinson was made an honorary member of the American Academy of Dermatology in 2013.

Macropinocytosis and autophagy: how keratinocytes eat and digest

Presenting at 8:00 am

Robert M Lavker, PhD

Jack W. Graffin, M.D. Research Professor

Professor in Dermatology

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Imaging for Asymptomatic Malignant Melanoma; Is it Worthwhile?

Presenting at 10:45 am

Daniel Eisen, MD

Director of Procedural Dermatology Fellowship and Aesthetic Dermatology

Professor of Clinical Dermatology

Co-director of Dermatologic Surgery

University of California- Davis

Davis, California

Dr. Daniel Eisen is director of dermatologic surgery and the University of California Davis Micrographic Surgery and Dermatologic Oncology. He received specialized training in Mohs surgery and cosmetic procedures during his fellowship at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. He is a board-certified dermatologist and a fellow of the American College of Mohs Surgery. Dr. Eisen has been in practice at the University since 2003 has steadily been promoted during his time there from assistant to associate and eventually to professor of clinical dermatology in 2014. His clinical and research interests include: hidradenitis suppurativa, common and rare types of skin cancers, lasers, photodynamic therapy, and medical education. He was selected for and completed a one-year-long "Teaching Scholars" program at the University and co-directs the second year medical student dermatology course there. His research focuses primarily on his clinical interests listed above. To that effect he has conducted several randomized trials on these topics and enjoys the surprises that come from these types of investigations.

Moderator: Shatil Amin, MD

Schedule of Events:

8:00 am–9:00 am

Research Presentation

9:00 am–9:30 am

Patient Viewing

9:30 am–10:30 am

Case Discussion

10:45 am-12:00 pm

Main Presentation

Overall meeting objectives:

At the conclusion of this activity, participants should be able to:

1. Discuss new technology used in addressing dermatologic problems.

2. Understand the choices and risks for treating skin disease.

3. Discuss the ethical issues that arise in patient care.

4. Recognize the relevance of new laboratory discoveries to clinical issues.

Accreditation Statement:

The Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Credit Designation Statement:

The Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 4 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Course Director:

Disclosure: Amy S. Paller, MD, MS has disclosed the following relevant financial relationships:

Serves as a consultant (with honoraria ) for the following companies:

Alexar Therapeutics, Inc., Amgen, Anacor Pharmaceuticals, Celgene Corporation, Dermira, Eli Lilly and Company, Galderma Laboratories, LP, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp., Pfizer Inc., Regeneron, Scioderm, Shire and Stiefel a GSK company.

Serves as a Principal Investigator (no honoraria) for the following companies: Amgen, Anacor Pharmaceuticals, Inc., and Scioderm.

FSM’s listed CME Leadership and Staff have nothing to disclose: John X. Thomas, Jr., PhD, Sr. Associate Dean for Medical Education, Genevieve Napier, CME Director, Jen Banys, Michelle Mallery, and Tristan Brown, CME Project Specialists.


Robert Lavker, PhD has nothing to disclose.

Daniel Eisen, MD has nothing to disclose.

Sponsored by: Department of Dermatology

Big image

The Next Grand Rounds will be held on Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Open Wide: Oral dermatology from Mayo Clinic

Rochelle R. Torgerson, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Dermatology

Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN