Trix Family News

Week of June 13, 2022

Big picture
Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (5 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 4)

Happy Sunday Trix Family!


It is the final lap and our scholars and teachers have finally made it to the finish line for the 2021-2022 school year. I want to take a moment to express my gratitude and thanks for your incredible efforts in support your scholars during this trying school year. Even in the midst of a pandemic you allowed your scholars to return to the school building through all our mitigation effort as well as remote instruction. Your commitment to your scholars remained steadfast.


Without you none of this would be possible and on behalf of the Trix Academy Staff we say Thank You for your flexibility and for continued support!


Have a phenomena summer and we look forward to seeing you Fall 2022.


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

Big picture
Big picture

Climate and Culture

Climate & Culture


  • This week is a free dress week for all scholars
  • They are not allowed to wear crocs, sandals, opened toed shoes and style of dress must be appropriate
  • For field day(zoo) scholars can wear any type of bottoms, but they must have on a red shirt
  • The red shirt is to help identify them
  • Parent please consider putting sun screen on your scholars for Thursday because the temperature is going to be around 90 degrees
  • Parents, if you can, please provide a hat(to block the sun and heat) and plenty of frozen water for yours scholars.
Big picture
Big picture

Gas Card Raffle

We have partnered with Every School Day Count Detroit. They will be supporting our school this summer by doing a deep dive into our attendance process and data to create solutions to better ensure high attendance this fall.


I am asking parents to please complete the Every School Day Counts Detroit Survey Below to assist us in getting more information on resources families need to ensure scholar daily attendance. Please complete by NOON Tuesday, June 14th!


We are entering all participating names in a GAS CARD Raffle!!! Names will be announced on Tuesday, June 14th!


DO NOT MISS OUT!!

Kindergarten Round Up June 22nd

Big picture
Big picture

74.5% Average Daily Attendance the week of June 6th - June 10th DAILY GOAL 95%

Big picture

Thursday June 16th

Scholars need to arrive promptly at 8:05am. to prepare for busses.

School bagged lunches will be provided for all scholars. All scholars are to wear a red shirt to make it easy to identify them at the zoo. They can wear appropriate bottoms of their choice.


Weather Advisory


Please make sure to use sunscreen, hats, visors, and prepare them with extra waters and or snacks as the weather is scheduled to be in the 90's.


Drawstring backpacks provided by CMU will be used to carry their belongings.

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

June Dates:


June 13th 8th Grade Special Event (Noon - 3:00pm)

June 14th Promotional Practice 9:00am-10:30am

June 14th Staff vs. Scholars Basketball Game (2pm-3pm)

June 15th Promotional Ceremonies

(Kinder 9am-10am, 5th 10:30am - 11:30am, 8th 12pm-1pm)

June 16th Schoolwide Zoo Trip (No Parent Chaperones)

June 17th Last Day of School (Full Day)

June 17th End of Quarter Records Close

June 27th-July 29th - Summer Advantage Begin 8:00am - 2:30pm

Big picture

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.