Federal Court System

Created by: James Casey

The Levels of Courts

There are three levels of courts. The highest level is the Supreme Court. Then there is Courts of Appeal. The lowest level is the District Courts.

(n.d.). Retrieved October 14, 2016, from http://study.com/academy/lesson/the-3-levels-of-the-federal-court-system-structure-and-organization.html

The Duties of each Court

The Supreme Court was created by the Constitution. It was created to make laws. Also 94 district level trial court and 13 courts of appeals below the Supreme Court. There is also the District Court. The District Court job is to resolve disputes with the nations 94 district. Then there is the Courts of Appeal. The Courts of Appeal review decisions of trial courts for errors of law.

Types of Jurisdiction

There are four types of Jurisdiction. There is the Exclusive Jurisdiction, the Concurrent Jurisdiction, Original Jurisdiction, and Appelate Jurisdiction.